Updates from ASLA

ASLA 2021 Professional Residential Design Honor Award. Ghost Wash. Paradise Valley, AZ. COLWELL SHELOR LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE >

ASLA Announces 2022 Honors Recipients

ASLA 2022 Honors Recipients / ASLA

ASLA announced its 2022 Honors Recipients highlighting some of the most noteworthy landscape architecture practitioners and firms nationwide. Selected by ASLA’s board of trustees, the honors represent the highest recognition ASLA bestows each year.

"Receiving an ASLA Honor is the landscape architecture profession’s highest achievement bestowed each year in the landscape architecture profession,” said ASLA President Eugenia Martin, FASLA (@eemmartin). “This year, we celebrate another this year’s extraordinary and diverse cohort of honorees and congratulate them on their distinguished accomplishments and contributions to landscape architecture. Their leadership and vision serves as an inspiration to make a difference to the profession as well as the welfare of the public and the environment.”

“In the face of significant ecological and social challenges today, the 2022 ASLA honorees are proving that landscape architecture is a force for positive change in the world,” said ASLA CEO Torey Carter-Conneen. “Our honorees are being recognized for their leadership and accomplishments in making a more sustainable and equitable world full of healthy and resilient places for all people. They are pointing the way forward for the entire field with their brilliant, creative and dedicated work.”

2022 ASLA Honors Recipients:

  • The ASLA Medal: Shawn Kelly, FASLA, Kelly Design Group/University of Wisconsin–Madison
  • The ASLA Design Medal: Laura Solano, FASLA, Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates, Inc.
  • The Landscape Architecture Firm Award: Mikyoung Kim Design
  • The Community Service Award: Ebru Ozer, Florida International University
  • The Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal: Kofi Boone, FASLA, North Carolina State University
  • The LaGasse Medal: Matt Arnn, ASLA, PLA, USDA Forest Service
  • The Olmsted Medal: National Association for Olmsted Parks
  • The ASLA Emerging Professional Medal: Charles Kene Okigbo, ASLA

Honorary ASLA Members:

  • Jean Catalano
  • Dr. Lisa E. Harris, M.D.
  • Elizabeth Hebron

The three honorary members inducted by ASLA are recognized for non-landscape architecture professionals being recognized for notable service to the profession. Since its inception in 1899, ASLA has inducted only 242 honorary members. 

Leave a Comment