Council of Fellows

Council of Fellows Header
ASLA Council of Fellows

Fellowship is among the highest honors the ASLA bestows on members and recognizes the contributions of these individuals to their profession and society at large based on their works, leadership and management, knowledge, and service. The designation of Fellow is conferred on individuals in recognition of exceptional accomplishments over a sustained period of time. Individuals considered for this distinction must be full members of ASLA in good standing for at least ten years and must be recommended to the Council of Fellows by the Executive Committee of their local chapter, the Executive Committee of the ASLA, or the Executive Committee of the Council of Fellows.


The 2024 Call for Nominations is now closed.  Jurors will meet in early Spring and notifications of results to nominees will begin in April or May. 

New this year was the option to submit images with the Knowledge, Leadership/Management, and Service categories. For these categories, a nominee may submit up to 10 images relevant to their nomination.
  The Works category still requires a 20-image presentation.  In addition, the category descriptions, criteria for jury review, and submission requirements have been edited for clarity. The templates for submission have not changed.

Please see instructions for categories and submission requirements.  Also, when the nomination is complete, you must upload all your materials using the online submission system.

In preparation for final submission:


  1. All nominations should be sent to chapter presidents for review and signature prior to January 15the deadline in preparation for final submission (see bullet 4).
  2. An account should be created in the online submission system by the chapter or by the nominee.  Creating the account will require contact information for both the nominee and the chapter president (a chapter may create one account with one president and multiple nominees).  The contact information is used to contact the nominee after the jury’s decision so please include the best email or phone number for this. Do not use general email or voicemail boxes.
  3. The last step to complete the online submission is an electronic approval by the chapter president.  The chapter president will receive an email message from the system requiring approval before the submission can be completed.  Because of the restraints of the online system, the chapter president needs to approve before they can view the nomination. This is why it is important for the chapter president to be aware of and see the nominations before you get to this final submission and approval step.  Once the chapter president has approved, someone needs to hit the submit button once again to complete final submission.


Frequently asked formatting questions:


  1. The Executive Summary at the beginning does not need a box around it but should have a heading.
  2. Be sure to use the category specific templates and headings found on the website.
  3. Avoid shading side boxes and testimonial boxes.  Shading can be difficult to read for jurors.  Use black-lined borders only.
  4. Nomination statements should be signed by chapter president only.  The last paragraph of the five-page statement should be a summary by the chapter president and does not need to take up the full page.
  5. The nominations may be no more than five pages in length, portrait orientation, and must be in an easily readable typeface, such as Times Roman, Garamond, or Arial, no smaller than 10-point size, for all text.
  6. Nominations may include four testimonials only.  Each testimonial may include only 75-words plus writer’s name and title.  We will return the submission for revision if too many testimonials or too many words.  No reference letters will be accepted.
  7. Upload all text and image documents as PDFs.  They are much easier for the jurors to access in the system.
  8. If submitting in the Works category, the presentation may include 20 images only.  Any page with multiple images will count toward that limit.  Please upload PowerPoint as a PDF document.  
  9. If submitting in the Knowledge, Leadership/Management, or Service category, the candidate may submit an optional presentation of 10 images only.  Any page with multiple images will count toward that limit.  Please upload PowerPoint as a PDF document.  


On October 27 we presented Demystifying the Fellows Nomination Process, a webinar to learn what you need to know if you are interested in being nominated and best practices on preparing nominations. The goal of the webinar is to increase transparency in the process and to encourage nominees who reflect the diversity of the profession.  Please watch!

To view a previous webinar from 2017 on preparing nominations,  please use the following links to access the recording and the presentation:

Webinar Recording 

Please contact Curt Millay ( if you have any questions.


The Council of Fellows presents four scholarships each year to deserving landscape architecture students. The scholarships are administered by the Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) and detailed information may be found on the LAF web site. Contributions to the scholarship fund are welcome.

2024 Scholarship Winners

2023 Scholarship Winners

2022 Scholarship Winners

2021 Scholarship Winners

2020 Scholarship Winners


Honors & Awards:
Carolyn Mitchell 
Manager, Honors & Awards

Council of Fellows:
Curt Millay, ASLA
Corporate Secretary