Professional Practice

MASterworks Design Awards

Date: 6/6/2023 - 7/3/2023

Type: Competitions / Awards

LA CES approved?: No

Location(s): New York


Nominate your New York City favorite project from last year!

Established in 2001, the MASterworks Awards pay tribute to projects completed in the previous year that exemplify excellence in architecture and urban design. From iconic buildings to hidden neighborhood gems, our list of past winners includes the Weeksville Heritage Center, McCarren Pool and Bathhouse, the TKTS Booth, the High Bridge, and the Gowanus Canal Sponge Park.

All nominated projects must be located in New York City and have been completed in 2022. Projects can be nominated in up to two of the following categories:

  • Best New Building for outstanding architectural design
  • Best Urban Landscape for a new or revitalized open space that contributes to livability and resilience
  • Best Restoration for a project that expertly enhances the original qualities of a significant historic building or structure
  • Best Adaptive Reuse for a project that demonstrates exceptional creativity in adaptive reuse of an existing building or structure
  • Best New Infrastructure for distinctive design in public service projects
  • Best New Urban Amenity for an addition to the built environment that contributes to a more livable city

This year's jury includes:

  • Wellington Chen, Executive Director, Chinatown Partnership
  • Wendy Evans Joseph, MAS Board of Directors and Principal, Studio Joseph
  • Signe Nielsen, Founding Principal, Mathews Nielsen Landscape Architects (MNLA)
  • Aniket Shahane, Principal of Office of Architecture (OA) and Senior Critic at Yale University School of Architecture





Professional Practice: 

Library and
Research Services:
Ian Bucacink

RFQs & Opportunities:

Historic Landscapes (HALS):