Honors & Awards

2004 THE LAGASSE MEDALS Recipient ( Landscape Architect Category )
James S. Bedwell, ASLA

The LaGasse Medal recognizes individuals who have made notable contributions to the management and conservancy of natural resources and/or public lands. Nominees in the Landscape Architect Category must be a landscape architect or hold a degree in landscape architecture and possess a minimum of ten years experience in the profession.

James S. Bedwell, ASLA, of the USDA Forest Service, has been selected to receive the LaGasse Medal in the Landscape Architect Category for his leadership in management and conservancy of natural resources and public lands. The LaGasse Medals are named in honor of the late Alfred B. LaGasse, a former executive vice president of ASLA who championed proper management of the nation's public lands and natural resources. Mr. Bedwell began his career with the Forest Service in 1979 and served in landscape architecture and recreation management positions in Tucson, AZ; Santa Fe, NM; and San Juan, PR prior to becoming Forest Service Chief Landscape Architect from 1996 through 2000. In that role, he was hailed for his leadership in outdoor recreation accessibility, scenic byways, scenery management, and the timely delivery of tools and resources to more than 300 landscape architects who work for the Forest Service. Of Specific note was his leadership in the development of the Forest Service's Built Environment Image Guide, the first national design guide for the agency since the Civilian Conservation Corp in the 1930s. He is currently Forest Supervisor for the Arapaho and Roosevelt National Forests and Pawnee National Grassland in Northeast Colorado.

Read the nomination letter by Rodney L. Swink, FASLA, past president of ASLA, and endorsements byDavid G. Holland, USDA Forest Service, A. Durand Jones, National Park Service, William M. Larsen, ASLA, USDA Forest Service, The Honorable Mark Udall, US House of Representatives.


Click on thumbnail to read full report



Click on thumbnail to read full article

Return to 2004 Medals & Landscape Architecture Firm Award page.


Honors & Awards:
Makeeya Hazelton 
Manager, Honors & Awards  

Council of Fellows:
Curt Millay, ASLA
Corporate Secretary