Honors & Awards


The Bradford Williams Medal

Bradford Williams Medal

This medal is given in honor of Bradford Williams, who for many years served as the "corresponding secretary of ASLA" and presided over ASLA national headquarters in Boston. He was past editor, publisher, business manager and the driving force behind Landscape Architecture Quarterly (now Landscape Architecture Magazine).

Purpose: To recognize superior writing in Landscape Architecture Magazine (LAM) and excellence in writing about landscape architecture in other mainstream periodicals.

Eligibility Requirements: Individual landscape architects or non-landscape architects who have written at least one article in Landscape Architecture Magazine during the course of that calendar year, and outside writers for other periodicals that have written an article on landscape architecture-related topics during the calendar year.

Number Given: Up to two medals given annually.

Selection Process: The LAM Editorial Committee nominates articles and makes the final selections. The medal recipient is then notified by the president and invited to attend the Society's annual meeting for presentation of the award. The Bradford Williams Medal will be presented the recipient in person at the annual meeting. If the recipient cannot be present, the medal will be mailed to him or her.

Selection Criteria: Bradford Williams Medal recipients are selected on the basis of:

  1. There will be two awards given each year, one for an article that appeared in LAM and one for an article on landscape architecture topics that appeared in an outside periodical.
  2. The award will be based on articles that have been written during the time period of January to December of the preceding year.
  3. Nominations are be made by the LAM Editorial Committee. In making the nominations, the committee will consider the following:
    1. Accurate, evocative writing
    2. Placement of topic in a larger context
    3. Potential for effecting positive change
    4. Cumulative contributions to the magazine

Nomination Submittals: To suggest an individual for the committee to consider for the Bradford Williams Medal, email bmckee@asla.org or by fax to Bradford McKee at 202-898-1185.

2018   Katarina Katsma, ASLA
2018   Kriston Capps
2017   Brian Barth
2017   Raffi Khatchadourian
2016   Alana Semuels
2016   Philip Hotchkiss Walsh
2015   Mimi Zeiger
2015   Susan Rustin
2014   Jennifer Cooper
2014   Michael Tortorello
2013   Elizabeth S. Padjen
2013   Timothy Egan
2012   Christopher Hawthorne
2012   David Heymann
2011   Sarah Williams Goldhagen
2011   Mark Hough, ASLA
2010   Daniel Jost, ASLA
2010   Linda McIntyre
2009   Adam Arvidson, ASLA
2009   Alex Ulam
2008   Ethan Carr, FASLA
2008   James Richards, ASLA
2007   George Hazelrigg, ASLA
2007   Linda Lee Jewell, FASLA
2006   Grady Clay, Honorary Member
2006   Randolph T. Hester, FASLA
2006   Susan Hines
2005   Allen Freeman
2005   James L. Sipes, ASLA
2004   Clare Cooper Marcus, Hon. ASLA
2004   Lolly Tai, FASLA
2003   Marc Treib
2003   Meg Calkins, ASLA
2002   Brenda Brown
2002   Kim Sorvig
2001   Bill Thompson, FASLA
2001   Kim O'Connell
2001   Kenneth Helphand, FASLA
1992   Bruce Ferguson, ASLA
1991   Laurie Olin, FASLA
1985   Warren T. Byrd Jr., ASLA and Susan S. Nelson, ASLA
1985   Blanche Linden-Ward and Alan Ward
1982   Helaine Kaplan Prentice, ASLA
1979   E. Lynn Miller, ASLA


Honors & Awards honorsawards@asla.org

Council of Fellows cmillay@asla.org