Honors & Awards

2023 The Cultural Landscape Foundation
The Cultural Landscape Foundation
The Cultural Landscape FoundationImage Credit:
The Cultural Landscape Foundation

The Cultural Landscape Foundation

“Landscape architecture provides an unrivaled stage for living in harmony with natural processes while revealing and interpreting significant historic fabric and cultural lifeways. What excites me most is that the profession is uniquely positioned to shape our futures by understanding our past.”


The Cultural Landscape Foundation (TCLF) is a Washington, D.C.-based education and advocacy non-profit founded in 1998 with a mission of “connecting people to places.”

During the past 25 years TCLF has created an extensive, carefully vetted, and profusely illustrated digital database of thousands of cultural landscapes (What’s Out There®), multiple books about and a digital database with biographies of more than 1,000 landscape architects and allied professionals (Pioneers of American Landscape Design®), along with eighteen video oral histories, and has advocated for threatened landscapes and landscape features (Landslide®), saving dozens from demolition. In addition, TCLF’s conferences, tours, traveling exhibitions, annual thematic reports and digital exhibition, more than 750 videos, and numerous other initiatives have raised the visibility of our shared landscape legacy and those who shape it. In 2019, TCLF announced the creation of a global award – the biennial Cornelia Hahn Oberlander International Landscape Architecture Prize®, which like the Pritzker Prize in architecture, includes a $100,000 purse, along with public engagement activities about the winner’s career and the discipline’s relevance and importance.

View nominating and supporting materials.



Honors & Awards:
Carolyn Mitchell 
Manager, Honors & Awards  

Council of Fellows:
Curt Millay, ASLA
Corporate Secretary