Honors & Awards

2011 ASLA Design Medal Recipient
Michael Van Valkenburgh, FASLA
Van Valkenburgh

Michael Van Valkenburgh, FASLA, will receive the ASLA Design Medal in recognition of exceptional design work over a sustained period of at least ten years. As founder and principal of Michal Van Valkenburgh Associates, his work has earned numerous awards – including 26 ASLA Professional Awards since the firm’s founding in 1982. Van Valkenburgh has also earned the Rome Prize from the American Academy in Rome and a Cooper-Hewitt National Design Award. Examples of Van Valkenburgh’s projects include Brooklyn Bridge Park and Teardrop Park in New York City, the White House Pennsylvania Avenue Renovation in Washington, D.C., and the revitalization of the Jefferson National Expansion Memorial in St. Louis.   

Supporting Materials


Honors & Awards honorsawards@asla.org

Council of Fellows cmillay@asla.org