Honors & Awards

2005 THE OLMSTED MEDAL Recipient
Charles E. Beveridge, PhD, Honorary ASLA

The Olmsted Medal was instituted in 1990 to recognize individuals, organizations, agencies, or programs outside the profession of landscape architecture for environmental leadership, vision, and stewardship.

Charles Eliot Beveridge, PhD, Honorary ASLA, one of ASLA’s new Honorary Members, is the world’s foremost authority on the work of Frederick Law Olmsted. In his work as an author and scholar, Dr. Beveridge has devoted his 40-year career to the study of Olmsted’s philosophies and achievements in landscape architecture. As series editor of the 12-volume The Papers of Frederick Law Olmsted (Johns Hopkins University Press), Dr. Beveridge has ensured that Olmsted’s ideas and body of work have achieved the acclaim and protection they deserve. He served as advisor to the U.S. Postal Service in 1999 on the Olmsted stamp, as historical advisor to National Geographic’s March 2005 feature article on Olmsted, and as consultant on HGTV’s Olmsted program in 2001. He has worked closely with landscape architects and communities throughout the U.S. and Canada to ensure the preservation and ongoing stewardship of Olmsted’s work.

Read the nomination letter from Kristi Farnsworth, ASLA, and support letters from Elizabeth Barlow Rogers, Hon. ASLA, Grady Clay, Honorary ASLA, Darwina L. Neal, FASLA, Susan Rademacher, and Witold Rybczynski, Hon. FAIA.

Return to 2005 Medals & Landscape Architecture Firm Award page>


Honors & Awards:
Carolyn Mitchell 
Manager, Honors & Awards  

Council of Fellows:
Curt Millay, ASLA
Corporate Secretary