Honors & Awards

2007 THE OLMSTED MEDAL Recipient
Great Valley Center

The Olmsted Medal was instituted in 1990 to recognize individuals, organizations, agencies, or programs outside the profession of landscape architecture for environmental leadership, vision, and stewardship. The Medal honors Frederick Law Olmsted, considered the founder of the American landscape architecture profession and steward of the environment.

The Great Valley Center, based in Modesto, California, will receive the Olmsted Medal for environmental leadership, vision, and stewardship. This nonprofit think tank is dedicated to the environmental, economic, and social quality of life in California's heartland: the Great Central Valley. With the valley's population set to double within the next 40 years, the research, communication and planning measures taken now are of critical importance. By sponsoring forums for change, building frameworks for strong local and regional leadership, and creating new impetus for innovation, the Great Valley Center addresses issues key to the region and much of the world. The center acts as a tireless facilitator for regional research and planning, hosting conferences, developing partnerships and projects, as well as publishing data and reports that drive planning and decisions at local, state, and national levels.

Read the nomination letter from Daniel F. Machado, ASLA, and support letters from the Hon. Henry Cisneros, Hon. ASLA, R.K. Stewart, FAIA, Michael Chrisman, Bill Liskamm, FAIA, and Hamid Shirvani, FASLA.


Honors & Awards:
Carolyn Mitchell 
Manager, Honors & Awards  

Council of Fellows:
Curt Millay, ASLA
Corporate Secretary