Honors & Awards

2010 ASLA Design Medal Recipient
James van Sweden, FASLA

van SwedenJames van Sweden, FASLA, will receive the ASLA Design Medal. Along with Wolfgang Oehme, he founded Oehme, van Sweden & Associates in 1975 and helped launch the “New American Garden” style of more naturalistic, four-season landscapes that pay homage to the American meadow movement originally inspired by Jens Jensen. Examples of van Sweden’s work include the World War II Memorial on the National Mall; North Point Park in Boston; the United States Embassy in Kabul, Afghanistan; and the New American and Friendship Gardens at the U.S. National Arboretum, along with hundreds of residential designs. He is also a prolific author whose work has received honors from the Garden Writers Association of America and the American Horticultural Society.

View supporting materials. 


Honors & Awards:
Makeeya Hazelton 
Manager, Honors & Awards  

Council of Fellows:
Curt Millay, ASLA
Corporate Secretary