Honors & Awards

2009 Olmsted Medal Recipient
The Center for Planning Excellence
Center for Planning and Excellence

The Olmsted Medal was instituted in 1990 to recognize individuals, organizations, agencies, or programs outside the profession of landscape architecture for environmental leadership, vision, and stewardship. The Medal honors Frederick Law Olmsted, considered the founder of the American landscape architecture profession and steward of the environment.

The Center for Planning Excellence in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, will receive the Olmsted Medal for environmental leadership, vision, and stewardship. Founded in 1998, the non-profit “CPEX” serves as a resource for residents, professionals, and elected officials on best practices for planning and urban design. Under the direction of Elizabeth “Boo” Thomas, ASLA, the center has served as one of the most influential organizations to address the recovery needs of hurricane-devastated areas of Louisiana. An outgrowth of Plan Baton Rouge, the Center for Planning Excellence officially came into being shortly after Hurricane Katrina struck in 2005. CPEX led the statewide Louisiana Speaks recovery planning process, the largest regional planning effort and public participation process ever undertaken in the U. S., and continues to lead comprehensive planning efforts throughout the state.

Read the nomination letter by Kurt Culbertson; supporting letters from Mayor Randy Roach; William A. Reich, ASLA; and Ray Gindroz, FAIA; and Douglas P. Reed, FASLA and supporting material.


Honors & Awards:
Carolyn Mitchell 
Manager, Honors & Awards  

Council of Fellows:
Curt Millay, ASLA
Corporate Secretary