Honors & Awards

2008 Olmsted Medal
Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center

ladybird brand photoThe Olmsted Medal was instituted in 1990 to recognize individuals, organizations, agencies, or programs outside the profession of landscape architecture for environmental leadership, vision, and stewardship. The Medal honors Frederick Law Olmsted, considered the founder of the American landscape architecture profession and steward of the environment.

The Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, based in Austin, Texas, will receive the ASLA Olmsted Medal for environmental leadership, vision, and stewardship. Founded in 1982 by the former first lady and actress Helen Hays, the organization works to increase the sustainable use and conservation of native wildflowers, plants, and landscapes. Most recently, the organization has taken a leading role in the Sustainable Sites Initiative—a program that will create the first rating system and guidelines for sustainable site planning and landscape design.

Read the nomination letter from José M. Almiñana, ASLA, support letters from Holly H. Shimizu, Deb Guenther, ASLA, and articles


Honors & Awards:
Carolyn Mitchell 
Manager, Honors & Awards  

Council of Fellows:
Curt Millay, ASLA
Corporate Secretary