Honors & Awards

2008 The LaGasse Medal Recipient (Landscape Architecture category)
Rodney Swink, FASLA

swink medThe LaGasse Medal, recognizes individuals who have made notable contributions to the management and conservancy of natural resources and/or public landscapes.

The ASLA LaGasse Medal will be awarded to Rodney Swink, FASLA, of Raleigh, N.C., for his leadership in management and conservancy of natural resources and public lands. Since 1984, Swink has served as director of the North Carolina Office of Urban Development. His award-winning work has led to more than $700 million of new investment to revitalize Main Street communities across the state. A champion of smart growth and historic preservation, Swink continues to lead urban downtown development and revitalization efforts.

Read the nomination letter from Luther E. Smith, ASLA, support letters from Dennis Carmichael, FASLA, Susan L. B. Jacobson, FASLA, Margaret H. Kluttz and Susan M. Hatchell, FASLA, biography, and articles.


Honors & Awards:
Carolyn Mitchell 
Manager, Honors & Awards  

Council of Fellows:
Curt Millay, ASLA
Corporate Secretary