Honors & Awards

2008 The Design Medal Recipient
Kathryn Gustafson, ASLA

gustafsonThe ASLA Design Medal is the highest honor the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) may bestow upon a landscape architect whose lifetime achievements and contributions to the profession have had a unique and lasting impact on the welfare of the public and the environment.

Kathryn Gustafson, ASLA, of Gustafson Guthrie Nichol Ltd. in Seattle and Gustafson Porter in London will receive the ASLA Design Medal in honor of her exceptional accomplishments. For over 25 years, Gustafson has created award-winning work across the globe, focusing on civic, institutional, and corporate projects. Recent examples include the Diana, Princess of Wales Memorial Fountain in London’s Hyde Park; the Garden of Forgiveness in Beirut; Lurie Garden in Chicago; Arthur Ross Terrace at the American Museum of Natural History in New York; and the Seattle Civic Center Campus. She is an honorary fellow of the Royal Institute of British Architecture and medalist of the French Academy of Architecture.

Read the nomination letter from Curtis LaPierre, ASLA, AICP and support letters from Jane Amidon.


Honors & Awards:
Carolyn Mitchell 
Manager, Honors & Awards  

Council of Fellows:
Curt Millay, ASLA
Corporate Secretary