Updates from ASLA

ASLA 2021 Professional Residential Design Honor Award. Ghost Wash. Paradise Valley, AZ. COLWELL SHELOR LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE >

2022 LAF Medal and Founders’ Award Winners

Elizabeth Kennedy, FASLA

The Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) is delighted to announce the 2022 recipients of its LAF Medal and Founders’ Award. These two annual awards are LAF’s highest honors, recognizing individuals and firms or organizations that have made a significant and sustained contribution to the LAF mission of supporting the preservation, improvement, and enhancement of the environment.

2022 LAF Medal Recipient: Elizabeth J. Kennedy, FASLA

The LAF Medal is conveyed to a landscape architect for distinguished work over a career in applying the principles of sustainability to landscapes. With this award, LAF recognizes Elizabeth’s distinguished career, commitment to social justice, and investment in the next generation of designers.

“In addition to great, sustainable landscapes that embody place and culture, Elizabeth has provided pro-bono and in-kind support to critical works, mentored dozens of students and young professionals, and advocated for diversity, equity, and inclusion throughout her career.” – LAF Medal & Founders’ Award Committee

Elizabeth Kennedy’s work intersects cultural heritage and ecological sustainability. An exceptional leader, visionary, and entrepreneur, she has been an advocate for social change, a teacher, and a mentor for young professionals, women, and BIPOC designers throughout her career. Elizabeth Kennedy Landscape Architect, PLLC, (EKLA), which she established in 1994 and continues to run, is the longest-operating Black woman-owned landscape architecture firm in the country. Her collaborative design approach and built works demonstrate the power of landscape architecture to celebrate the narratives of underrepresented voices.

2022 LAF Founders’ Award Recipient: The Nature Conservancy

The LAF Founders’ Award is conveyed to a firm, agency, or organization that demonstrates a significant commitment to preserving, creating, or enhancing landscapes over a sustained period of time. With this award, LAF recognizes The Nature Conservancy (TNC), its focus on the vital connections between people and nature, and TNC’s collaboration with landscape architects as we urgently work to tackle climate change, species extinction, and inequity.

“Along with its extensive conservation and restoration activities, The Nature Conservancy is spearheading efforts to promote nature-based solutions to address climate change and inequity.” – LAF Medal & Founders’ Award Committee

The Nature Conservancy (TNC) is the world’s largest conservation organization, working in 76 countries and territories and in every state across the US. TNC has over one million members and has protected more than 125 million acres of land worldwide. Current work focuses on addressing the biodiversity and climate crises over the next decade. Through various partnerships and programs, TNC has collaborated with landscape architects on initiatives to preserve and restore land, promote nature-based solutions in urban areas, develop innovative stormwater policies, and support workforce development through green infrastructure, to name just a few.

The 2022 honorees will be recognized at the LAF Awards Dinner on June 2 in Washington, DC. A list of past award winners can be found online.

Leave a Comment