Updates from ASLA

ASLA 2021 Professional Residential Design Honor Award. Ghost Wash. Paradise Valley, AZ. COLWELL SHELOR LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE >

LAF Scholarships: Applications Due February 1

The Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF), a leading provider of scholarships for landscape architecture students, reminds students and faculty about its 2021 opportunities with $180,000 available. Help spread the word to qualified candidates!

LAF scholarships are open to students enrolled at colleges and universities in the U.S. and Canada. Additional requirements vary by award. Applications are due February 1.

The LAF Olmsted Scholars Program recognizes one student with exceptional leadership potential from each accredited landscape architecture program in the U.S. and Canada. Nominations from faculty are due February 15. Students do not apply directly.

New for 2021

Two new scholarships have been established, and several existing scholarships have added additional awards or increased award amounts.
Daniel Zwier/Permaloc Innovation Scholarship - This new $5,000 award is available to undergraduate or master's students interested in a non-traditional career path.
Landscape Forms Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Scholarship - This new $5,000 award supports Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) undergraduate students with financial need.
ASLA Council of Fellows Scholarships - The top award amount has increased to $10,000 with three $5,000 Runners-up to support underrepresented groups and those with financial need.
EDSA Diversity Scholarship - A second $5,000 award has been added to help African American, Hispanic, Native American, and other cultural and ethnic minorities continue their landscape architecture education.

Honor Awards

LAF Honor Scholarship in Memory of Joe Lalli, FASLA - This prestigious $20,000 award is available to master's students who demonstrate commitment to some of the areas to which Joe Lalli dedicated himself. New for 2021: A $5,000 Runner-up award has been added.
LAF Honor Scholarship for Inclusive Community Design - This $10,000 award ($2,000 Runner-up) is available to master’s students who show commitment to underserved urban communities and community-scale design issues.

LAF offers 9 different awards ranging from $2,500 to $10,000. Eligibility requirements vary by scholarship. In addition to those listed above, these include:

  • Courtland Paul Scholarship
  • GCA/Douglas Dockery Thomas Fellowship in Garden History and Design
  • Landscape Forms Scholarship in Memory of Peter Lindsay Schaudt, FASLA
  • Rain Bird Intelligent Use of Water™ Scholarship
  • Steven G. King Play Environments Scholarship

Location-Specific Scholarships
These awards range from $2,000 to $5,000 and are limited to students who are from or studying in specific schools or regions.

  • ASLA Florida Chapter Career Discovery Scholarships (2)
  • ASLA-NY Designing in the Public Realm Scholarship
  • Hawaii Chapter ASLA/David T. Woolsey Scholarship
  • Peridian International, Inc./Rae L. Price, FASLA Scholarship

Olmsted Scholars Program
The LAF Olmsted Scholars Program is the premier leadership recognition program for landscape architecture students. Each accredited landscape architecture program may nominate one outstanding student leader to be recognized as their Olmsted Scholar and compete for the national awards. The jury-selected graduate student winner receives $25,000 and three finalists receive $5,000. The undergraduate winner receives $15,000 and three finalists receive $3,000. The LAF Olmsted Scholars Program is made possible with support from Lead Sponsor: The Toro Company; Annual Sponsors: HOK, OLIN, Sasaki, IRONSMITH, LandDesign, Deeproot, Bill Main, Hon. ASLA, Steven G. King, FASLA; and Promotion Partner: American Society of Landscape Architects.

Since 1986, the Landscape Architecture Foundation has awarded a total of $1.8 million to more than 600 students through its scholarships programs.

Leave a Comment