Updates from ASLA

ASLA 2020 Residential Design Award of Excellence. Marshcourt, Cambridge, MA. Reed Hilderbrand >

LAF Scholarship Deadlines Approaching

The Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF), a leading provider of national scholarships for landscape architecture students, reminds students and faculty about its 2020 award opportunities with $160,000 available. Help spread the word to qualified candidates!
These scholarships are open to students enrolled at colleges and universities in the U.S. and Canada. Additional requirements vary by award.

Honor Awards

Applications are due Feb 1.
LAF offers 7 different awards ranging from $2,500 to $5,000. Eligibility requirements vary by scholarship. Applications are due Feb 1.
  • ASLA Council of Fellows Scholarships (4)
  • Courtland Paul Scholarship
  • EDSA Minority Scholarship
  • GCA/Douglas Dockery Thomas Fellowship in Garden History and Design
  • Landscape Forms Scholarship in Memory of Peter Lindsay Schaudt, FASLA
  • Rain Bird Intelligent Use of Water™ Scholarship
  • Steven G. King Play Environments Scholarship
These awards range from $2,000 to $5,000 and are limited to students who are from or studying in specific schools or regions. Applications are due Feb 1.
  • ASLA Florida Chapter Career Discovery Scholarships (2)
  • ASLA-NY Designing in the Public Realm Scholarship
  • Hawaii Chapter ASLA/David T. Woolsey Scholarship
  • Peridian International, Inc./Rae L. Price, FASLA Scholarship
Nominations are due Feb 15, full submissions due Mar 15.
The LAF Olmsted Scholars Program is the premier leadership recognition program for landscape architecture students. Each accredited landscape architecture program may nominate one exceptional student leader to be recognized as their Olmsted Scholar and compete for the national awards. One jury-selected graduate student winner receives $25,000 and three finalists receive $5,000. One undergraduate winner receives $15,000 and three finalists receive $3,000. The Olmsted Scholars Program is made possible with support from Lead Sponsor: The Toro Company; Annual Sponsors: HOK, OLIN, Sasaki, IRONSMITH, LandDesign, Deeproot, Bill Main, Hon. ASLA, Steven G. King, FASLA, Thomas C. and Gerry D. Donnelly; and Promotion Partner: American Society of Landscape Architects.
Since 1986, the Landscape Architecture Foundation has awarded a total of $1.6 million to more than 600 students through its scholarships programs.

Leave a Comment