Updates from ASLA

ASLA 2019 Professional General Design Honor Award. Glenstone, Potomac, Maryland. PWP Landscape Architecture >

LAF Scholarship Deadlines Approaching

The Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF), a leading provider of national scholarships for landscape architecture students, reminds students and faculty about its 2019 award opportunities with $150,000 available. Help spread the word to qualified candidates!

New this year is a $10,000 LAF Honor Scholarship for Inclusive Community Design, and there are now up to four ASLA Council of Fellows Scholarships available with each winner receiving $5,000 and travel to the ASLA Conference on Landscape Architecture.

LAF Honor Scholarship in Memory of Joe Lalli, FASLA
Applications due: February 1
This prestigious $20,000 scholarship is awarded annually to a student pursuing a Master’s degree in landscape architecture in the U.S. or Canada. Candidates should demonstrate commitment to some of the areas that Joe Lalli dedicated himself to, including artistic pursuits, travel, and giving back in service to one’s community and profession.

LAF Honor Scholarship for Inclusive Community Design
Applications due: February 1
This new $10,000 scholarship, established by Patrick Phillips, former Global CEO of the Urban Land Institute, is for graduate landscape architecture students pursuing a degree in the U.S. or Canada. Applicants should show commitment to underserved urban communities and addressing community-scale design issues. Preference is given to those interested in careers in the non-profit or public sector.

Scholarships and Fellowships
Applications due: February 1
LAF offers nine different awards ranging from $2,500-$5,000. Eligible candidates are undergraduate or graduate students enrolled at colleges and universities in the U.S. and Canada. Additional requirements vary by scholarship. Awards include:
  • ASLA Council of Fellows Scholarships
  • ASLA-NY Designing in the Public Realm Scholarship
  • Courtland Paul Scholarship
  • EDSA Minority Scholarship
  • GCA/Douglas Dockery Thomas Fellowship in Garden History and Design
  • Landscape Forms Scholarship in Memory of Peter Schaudt, FASLA
  • Peridian International, Inc./Rae L. Price, FASLA Scholarship
  • Rain Bird Intelligent Use of Water™ Scholarship
  • Steven G. King Play Environments Scholarship 
Olmsted Scholars Program
Nominations due: February 15, Submissions due: March 15
The LAF Olmsted Scholars Program is the premier leadership recognition program for landscape architecture students. Each LAAB-accredited landscape architecture program may nominate one exceptional student leader to be recognized as a University Olmsted Scholar and compete for the national awards. One jury-selected graduate student winner receives $25,000 and three finalists receive $5,000. One undergraduate winner receives $15,000 and three finalists receive $3,000. The Olmsted Scholars Program is made possible with support from Lead Sponsor: The Toro Company; Annual Sponsors: HOK, OLIN, Sasaki, IRONSMITH, LandDesign, Deeproot, Bill Main, Hon. ASLA, Steven G. King, FASLA, Thomas C. and Gerry D. Donnelly; and Promotion Partner: American Society of Landscape Architects.

Since 1986, the Landscape Architecture Foundation has awarded more than $1.5 million in scholarships to more than 580 students.

Leave a Comment