Updates from ASLA

ASLA 2019 Professional General Design Honor Award. Hunter's Point South Waterfront Park Phase II. SWA / Balsley and Weiss/Manfredi >

LAF Innovation + Leadership Symposium and Awards Dinner

On May 17, join the Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) in Washington, D.C., for two events that showcase and celebrate leading-edge thinking and achievements in landscape architecture and sustainability. Learn more and purchase tickets here

LAF Innovation + Leadership Symposium

In what promises to be a powerful event, the six inaugural LAF Fellowship for Innovation and Leadership recipients will present their projects on homelessness and public space, environmental equity in Los Angeles public schools, resilient water management in India, cultivating future landscape architects, creating multi-purpose highway corridors, and reinventing public spaces in the American south.
The symposium is the culmination of the year-long LAF Fellowship for Innovation and Leadership, a unique program and $25,000 award that supports mid-career, senior-level, and emerging professionals as they develop and test new ideas that will drive the future of the landscape architecture discipline.

This symposium is approved for 2.0 Professional Development Hours (PDH) through the Landscape Architecture Continuing Education System (LA CES). Presentations will be followed by a cocktail hour where guests can mingle and meet the Fellows.

2018 LAF Awards Dinner

Immediately following the symposium, LAF will host an awards dinner to recognize the 2018 recipients of the LAF Medal and Founders’ Award, LAF’s highest honors for individuals and organizations that have made a significant and sustained contribution to the LAF mission of supporting the preservation, improvement, and enhancement of the environment.

Carol Franklin, FASLA, PLA, a founding principal of Andropogon Associates, Ltd. will be presented with the 2018 LAF Medal. “Carol Franklin exemplifies career-long passion and leadership in promoting ecological awareness and sustainability. In addition to her award-winning work as a founding member of Andropogon, she taught at PennDesign for over 30 years, seeding the next generation with those values,” said Awards Committee Chair Dennis Carmichael, FASLA.

The Trust for Public Land will receive the 2018 LAF Founders’ Award. “For over 35 years, the Trust for Public Land has worked to protect land for people, emphasizing the value of designed and natural spaces for our increasingly urban population. TPL’s mission and values align closely with those of landscape architects, and their efforts have had positive impacts for tens of millions of Americans,” said Awards Committee Chair Dennis Carmichael, FASLA.

Leave a Comment