Updates from ASLA

LAF Scholarship Deadlines Approaching

The Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF), the leader in national scholarships for landscape architecture students, reminds students and faculty about its 2018 award opportunities with over $125,000 available. Help spread the word to qualified candidates!

LAF Honor Scholarship in Memory of Joe Lalli, FASLA
Applications due: Feb 1
This prestigious $20,000 scholarship is awarded annually to a student pursuing a Master’s degree in landscape architecture in the U.S. or Canada. Candidates should demonstrate commitment to some of the areas that Joe Lalli dedicated himself to, including artistic pursuits, travel, and giving back in service to one’s community and profession.

Scholarships and Fellowships

Applications due: Feb 1
LAF offers eight different awards ranging from $2,000-$5,000. Eligible candidates are undergraduate or graduate students enrolled at colleges and universities in the U.S. and Canada. Additional requirements vary by scholarship. 

Awards include:
  • ASLA Council of Fellows Scholarships
  • ASLA-NY Designing in the Public Realm Scholarship
  • EDSA Minority Scholarship
  • GCA/Douglas Dockery Thomas Fellowship in Garden History and Design
  • Hawaii Chapter/David T. Woolsey Scholarship
  • Landscape Forms Scholarship in Memory of Peter Schaudt, FASLA
  • Rain Bird Intelligent Use of Water™ Scholarship
  • Steven G. King Play Environments Scholarship 
Olmsted Scholars Program
Nominations due: Feb 15, Submissions due: Mar 15
LAF's Olmsted Scholars Program with its $25,000 graduate and $15,000 undergraduate prize is the premier national award and recognition program for landscape architecture students. Each university may nominate one exceptional student leader from each of its LAAB-accredited landscape architecture programs to be recognized as a University Olmsted Scholar and compete for the appropriate national award. Graduate students or undergraduates currently in their fourth or fifth year are eligible.

This year, thanks to the generous support of LAF’s 50 & Forward Campaign donors, Finalist awards have increased from $1,000 to $5,000 for graduates and $3,000 for undergraduates. The Olmsted Scholars Program is made possible with support from Lead Sponsor: The Toro Company; Annual Sponsors: EDSA, HOK, OLIN, Sasaki, IRONSMITH, LandDesign, Thomas C. and Gerry D. Donnelly, Steven G. King, FASLA, Bill Main, Hon. ASLA; and Promotion Partner: American Society of Landscape Architects.

Since 1986, the Landscape Architecture Foundation has awarded $1.4 million in scholarships to over 550 students.

Leave a Comment