Surfacedesign Wins National Design Award for Landscape Architecture

Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum has announced the winners of the 2017 National Design Awards, recognizing design excellence and innovation in 11 categories. Now in their 18th year, the annual awards promote design as a vital humanistic tool in shaping the world and are accompanied by educational programs. The award recipients will be honored at a gala dinner and ceremony on Thursday, October 19, at the Arthur Ross Terrace and Garden at Cooper Hewitt.

This year’s recipients are Hartmut Esslinger, Lifetime Achievement; Susan S. Szenasy, Director’s Award; Craig L. Wilkins, Design Mind; Design Trust for Public Space, Corporate & Institutional Achievement; MASS Design Group, Architecture Design; Jennifer Morla, Communication Design; Slow and Steady Wins the Race, Fashion Design; Stamen Design, Interaction Design; Deborah Berke Partners, Interior Design; Surfacedesign, Landscape Architecture; and Joe Doucet, Product Design.

“In an era of tumultuous change, design is asking deep questions about its purpose and contributions to a better society,” said Caroline Baumann, director of Cooper Hewitt. “The achievements of this year’s class of National Design Award winners have informed that dialogue, and their accomplishments have elevated our understanding of what great American design is and what it can do to improve our world.”

A diverse jury of design leaders and educators selected the winners after reviewing award submissions resulting from nominations submitted by design experts and enthusiasts. Nominees must have been practicing professionally for a minimum of seven years; Lifetime Achievement nominees must have been practicing professionally for a minimum of 20 years. Winners are selected based on the level of excellence, innovation, and public impact of their body of work. Unlike the jury-selected awards, the Director’s Award is chosen by Baumann and given to an individual or organization in recognition of outstanding support and patronage within the design community.

Established in 2000 as a project of the White House Millennium Council, the National Design Awards are accompanied each year by National Design Week, which takes place this year Oct. 14–22. A variety of public education programs will be offered at the museum as well as across the country, including special events, panel discussions, and workshops for students, teachers, corporate professionals, designers, and Cooper Hewitt’s dedicated audience. Programs will be posted at

National Design Awards programming is made possible by major support from Target. Additional funding is provided by Design Within Reach, Facebook, and Bloomberg Philanthropies.

Read about the winners here.

Leave a Comment