Updates from ASLA

ASLA 2021 Professional Residential Design Honor Award. Ghost Wash. Paradise Valley, AZ. COLWELL SHELOR LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE >

What Makes an ASLA Professional Award Winner?

ASLA 2023 Professional General Design Honor Award. Grand Junction Park and Plaza, Westfield, Indiana. DAVID RUBIN Land Collective / Alan Karchmer

How do you become an ASLA award winner? Focus on the preparation and execution of your submission. The project is important, but how you communicate to the jury is vital.

The jury—comprised of landscape architecture professionals from the private, public, institutional, and academic practices—reviews projects of all types, sizes, budgets, and locations.

As the jury chair and a past juror, here are a few key points to focus on during the submission process to better communicate to the jury:

  • Keep it simple and follow the directions: Focus on communicating the project’s value to the jury.

  • Focus on the narrative description: Be direct. Highlight why the project is unique, its environmental components, the long-term value, and how it raises the bar for the profession.

  • Photography is key: Hire a professional. Focus on lighting, shoot the project in different seasons and at different times of day, and have the photos shot or scanned in a high-resolution format.

  • Neatness counts: Don’t procrastinate. Gather materials early and leave plenty of time to proof the narrative and captions.

  • Submit projects in several categories: Design categories are the most competitive. Consider all of your work and how projects may fit in alternative categories.

  • Resubmit projects: Juries change each year. What appeals to one jury may not appeal to the other. Request jury comments. Sometimes all the project need are simple changes.

ASLA is accepting registration through Friday, February 23 and submissions through Friday, March 15 at 11:59 pm PST.

Submit your project

Good luck and look forward to reviewing your projects,

Jennifer Nitzky, FASLA, Chair Jury 1 and Glenn LaRue Smith, FASLA, Chair Jury 2

Leave a Comment