Updates from ASLA


ASLA 2024 Call for Honors Nominations Now Open

Abigail Reimel, ASLA, 2023 Emerging Professional Medal Winner, and Emily O'Mahoney, FASLA, Immediate Past President

Selected by ASLA’s Board of Trustees, the honors represent the highest awards ASLA presents each year. 

The deadline for nominations is February 12, 2024.    
Know someone who exemplifies excellence? Learn more and nominate them.

The ASLA Medal is bestowed upon a landscape architect whose lifetime achievements and contributions to the profession have had a unique and lasting impact on the welfare of the public and the environment.

The ASLA Design Medal recognizes an individual landscape architect who has produced a body of exceptional design work at a sustained level for a period of at least ten years.

The Community Service Award recognizes an individual landscape architect, group of landscape architects, landscape architecture firms, landscape architecture education programs, or ASLA Chapters who have provided sustained, pro bono service to the community demonstrating sound principles or values of landscape architecture.

The Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal celebrates the outstanding life and career of Professor Jot D. Carpenter, FASLA, past president of the ASLA. Professor Carpenter's position as Professor of Landscape Architecture at Ohio State University was a formidable platform to showcase his honor, commitment, and energy as an educator, leaving an indelible mark on landscape architecture education. This medal honors his contribution to education and the profession.

The LaGasse Medals are named for Alfred B. LaGasse, past executive director of the American Institute of Park Executives and executive vice president of the National Recreation and Parks Association. Recognizes notable contributions by individuals to the management and conservancy of natural resources and/or public landscapes.

The Landscape Architecture Firm Award recognizes landscape architecture firms that have produced bodies of distinguished work influencing the professional practice of landscape architecture.

The Landscape Architecture Medal of Excellence recognizes significant contributions to landscape architecture policy, research, education, project planning, and design, or a combination of these items.

The Olmsted Medal was instituted in 1990 to recognize individuals, organizations, agencies, or programs outside the profession of landscape architecture for environmental leadership, vision, and stewardship. The Medal honors Frederick Law Olmsted, considered the founder of the American landscape architecture profession and steward of the environment.

ASLA Emerging Professional Medal recognizes an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership and considerable contribution to the profession of landscape architecture, the prospective recipient’s community, and/or a firm or design team; early in one’s career. The individual must be within the first 10 years of their career and have a degree from a landscape architecture program recognized by ASLA.

Honorary ASLA Membership. This award recognizes persons other than landscape architects whose achievements of national or international significance or influence have provided notable service to the profession of landscape architecture. Up to 8 awards are given. Honorary Members shall be individuals who are not landscape architects but whose achievements are of national or international significance or influence.

Learn more and apply  

Leave a Comment