ASLA 2017 Professional & Student Awards

Each year, the ASLA Professional Awards honor the best in landscape architecture from around the globe, while the ASLA Student Awards give us a glimpse into the future of the profession.

Award recipients receive featured coverage in Landscape Architecture Magazine, the magazine of ASLA, and in many other design and construction industry and general interest media. Award recipients, their clients, and advisors will be honored at the awards presentation ceremony during the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in Los Angeles, October 20-23, 2017.

NEW: Entry payments and submissions must be submitted online. Begin Your Submission.

The Juries

The prestige of the ASLA awards program relies in large part on the high caliber of the juries convened each year to review submissions. The ASLA Honors and Awards Advisory Committee seeks to assemble juries that represent the breadth of the profession, including private, public, institutional, and academic practice, and exemplify diversity in professional experience, geography, gender, and ethnicity.

Professional Awards Jury

Elizabeth Miller, FASLA – CHAIR
National Capital Planning Commission
Washington, DC USA

Diane Jones Allen, ASLA
DesignJones LLC
New Orleans, LA USA

Maureen Alonso
U.S. General Services Administration
Washington, DC USA

James Brasuell
Los Angeles, CA USA

James Lord, ASLA
Surfacedesign Inc.
San Francisco, CA USA

Janet Rosenberg, FASLA
Janet Rosenberg Studio
Toronto, Ontario CANADA

Glen Schmidt, FASLA
Schmidt Design Group, Inc.
San Diego, CA USA

Todd Wichman, FASLA
St. Paul, MN USA

Barbara Wyatt, ASLA
National Park Service
Washington, DC USA

Joining the professional jury for the selection of the Research Category will be representatives on behalf of LAF | Landscape Architecture Foundation and CELA | Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture.

LAF Logo

M. Elen Deming, ASLA
University of Illinois
Champaign, IL USA


Charlene LeBleu, FASLA
Auburn University
Auburn, AL USA

Student Awards Jury

Barbara Swift, FASLA – CHAIR
Swift Company llc
Seattle, WA USA

Michael Albert, ASLA
Design Workshop
Aspen, CO USA

Meg Calkins, FASLA
Ball State University
Muncie, IN USA

Mark Focht, FASLA
New York City Parks & Recreation
New York, NY USA

Robert Page, FASLA
Olmsted Center for Landscape Preservation
Boston, MA USA

James Richards, FASLA
Townscape, Inc.
Fort Worth, TX USA

Roberto Rovira, ASLA
Florida International University, Studio Roberto Rovira
Miami, FL USA

Meghan Stromberg
American Planning Association
Chicago, IL USA

Mercedes Ward, ASLA
New York City Parks
Flushing, NY USA