ASLA 2011 Professional & Student Awards

Each year, the ASLA Professional Awards honor the best in landscape architecture from around the globe, while the ASLA Student Awards give us a glimpse into the future of the profession.

Award recipients receive featured coverage in Landscape Architecture magazine, the magazine of ASLA, and in many other design and construction industry and general interest media. Award recipients, their clients, and advisors will be honored at the awards presentation ceremony during the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in San Diego, October 30–November 2, 2011. The prestige of the ASLA awards program relies in large part on the high-caliber juries that are convened each year to review submissions.

The Juries

Professional Awards Jury

David J. Yocca, FASLA
Jury Chair
Conservation Design Forum
Elmhurst, IL

Robert Campbell, FAIA
The Boston Globe

Mark Hough, ASLA
Duke University
Durham, NC

Ilze Jones, FASLA
Jones and Jones Architects and Landscape Architects, Ltd.

Elizabeth Meyer, FASLA
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, VA

Laurie Olin, FASLA

Pamela Palmer, ASLA
Venice, CA

Christine Ten Eyck, FASLA
Ten Eyck Landscape Architects

Alexandros Washburn, AIA
Chief Urban Designer, New York City Department of City Planning

Joining the jury for the selection of the Landmark Award on behalf of the National Trust for Historic Preservation:

William H. Tishler, FASLA
University of Wisconsin
Madison, WI


Student Awards Jury

Mario Nievera, ASLA
Jury Chair
Mario Nievera Design
Palm Beach, FL and
New York City

Thomas Balsley, FASLA
Thomas Balsley Associates
New York City

Gary Brown, FASLA
University of Wisconsin
Madison, WI

James Burnett, FASLA
Office of James Burnett

Shane Coen, ASLA

Diane Dale, FASLA
William McDonough + Partners
Charlottesville, VA

M. Elen Deming, ASLA
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

John King, Hon. ASLA
San Francisco Chronicle
San Francisco

Karen Phillips, FASLA
New York City Planning Commission