ASLA 2010 Professional & Student Awards

Each year, the ASLA Professional Awards honor the best in landscape architecture from around the globe, while the ASLA Student Awards give us a glimpse into the future of the profession.

Award recipients receive featured coverage in Landscape Architecture magazine, the magazine of ASLA, and in many other design and construction industry and general interest media. Award recipients, their clients, and advisors will be honored at the awards presentation ceremony during the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in Washington, DC, September 10-13, 2010. The prestige of the ASLA awards program relies in large part on the high-caliber juries that are convened each year to review submissions.

The Juries

Professional Awards Jury

Mario Nievera, ASLA
Jury Chair
Mario Nievera Design, Inc.
Palm Beach, FL, and New York, NY

José Almiñana, ASLA
Andropogon Associates
Philadelphia, PA

Herbert Dreiseitl, International ASLA
Atelier Dreiseitl
Ɯberlingen, Deutschland

Elizabeth Mossop, ASLA
Louisiana State University and Spackman, Mossop + Michaels
New Orleans, LA

Shannon Nichol, ASLA
Gustafson Guthrie Nichol, Ltd
Seattle, WA

Doug Reed, FASLA
Reed Hilderbrand Associates, Inc.
Watertown, MA

John Reynolds, FASLA
National Park Service Retired
Crozet, VA

Katie Tamony
Menlo Park, CA

David J. Yocca, ASLA
Conservation Design Forum
Elmhurst, IL, and
Ann Arbor, MI

Joining the jury for the Residential Design category:

Bill Marken, Honorary ASLA
Editor Emeritus,
Garden Design
Los Altos, CA

Sarah Kinbar
Editor, Garden Design
Winter Park, FL

Joining the jury for the selection of the Landmark Award on behalf of the National Trust for Historic Preservation:

William H. Tishler, FASLA
University of Wisconsin
Madison, WI


Student Awards Jury

Jury Chair
Rios Clementi Hale Studios
Los Angeles, CA

Patrick Caughey, FASLA
Wimmer Yamada and Caughey
San Diego, CA

George W. Curry, FASLA
State University of New York
Syracuse, NY

Tom Leader, ASLA
Tom Leader Studio
Berkeley, CA

Scott Mehaffey, FASLA
Office of the Mayor
Chicago, IL

Janet Rosenberg, ASLA
Janet Rosenberg and Associates, Inc.
Toronto, ON

Stephen Stimson, FASLA
Stephen Stimson Associates
Falmouth, MA

Christine Ten Eyck, FASLA
Ten Eyck Landscape Architects, Inc.
Austin, TX

Michael Vergason, FASLA
Michael Vergason Landscape Architects, Ltd.
Alexandria, VA