American Society of Landscape Architects

<< back to press releases

Jim Lapides,
Manager of Public
(202) 216-2371


© Copyright 2007
American Society of Landscape Architects
All rights reserved.

Terms of Use



ASLA Selects 33 Members for Council of Fellows
The new Fellows will be formally inducted during the ASLA Annual Meeting in San Francisco

WASHINGTON, April 24, 2007---ASLA has announced the selection of 33 members for induction into its Council of Fellows, among the highest honors the Society confers upon its members each year.

Members of the ASLA Council of Fellows are recognized for their extraordinary work, leadership, knowledge, and service to the profession over a sustained period of time.  The new Fellows will be formally inducted in the Council on Saturday, October 6, 2007, during the ASLA Annual Meeting in San Francisco.  Thereafter, they may use the suffix “FASLA” after their names, denoting recognition of their achievements by their peers.

A complete list, photos, and brief biographies are located online at  

The new Fellows include:

  • Todd P. Bennitt, ASLA, Southern California Chapter, Bennitt Design Group, Torrance, California;
  • Gene Bressler, ASLA, Colorado Chapter, College of Design, NC State University, Raleigh, North Carolina;
  • George B. Briggs, ASLA, North Carolina Chapter, The North Carolina Arboretum of the University of North Carolina, Asheville, North Carolina;
  • Kenneth R. Brooks, ASLA, Arizona Chapter, Arizona State University, College of Design, Tempe, Arizona;
  • Robert A. Close, ASLA, Minnesota Chapter, Close Landscape Architecture Inc., Minneapolis;
  • Andrea C. Cochran, ASLA, Northern California Chapter, Andrea Cochran Landscape Architecture, San Francisco;
  • Roger G. Courtenay, ASLA, Potomac Chapter, EDAW Inc., Arlington, Virginia;
  • Brian J. Dougherty, ASLA, Okalahoma Chapter, Oklahoma City Community Foundation, Oklahoma City;
  • Angela D. Dye, ASLA, Arizona Chapter, A Dye Design Inc., Phoenix;
  • William T. Eubanks III, ASLA, South Carolina Chapter, Seamon, Whiteside & Associates Inc., Mount Pleasant, South Carolina;
  • Bonnie Fisher, ASLA, Northern California Chapter, ROMA Design Group, San Francisco;
  • Douglas E. Hoerr, ASLA, Illinois Chapter, Douglas Hoerr Landscape Architecture, Chicago;
  • M. Elise Huggins, ASLA, Alaska Chapter, Earthscape, Anchorage, Alaska;
  • David Kamp, ASLA, New York Chapter, Dirtworks PC Landscape Architecture, New York, New York;
  • Barrett L. Kays, ASLA, North Carolina Chapter, Landis Inc., Raleigh, North Carolina;
  • Owen C. Lang, ASLA, Northern California Chapter, Sasaki Associates, San Francisco;
  • Jeff S. Lee, ASLA, Potomac Chapter, Lee and Associates Inc., Washington, DC;
  • Mia G. Lehrer, ASLA, Southern California Chapter, Mia Lehrer + Associates, Los Angeles;
  • Brian C. McCarter, ASLA, Oregon Chapter, Zimmer Gunsul Frasca Architects LLP, Portland, Oregon;
  • Lee R. McLaren, ASLA, North Carolina Chapter, DPR Associates, Charlotte, North Carolina;
  • Tooru Miyakoda, International ASLA, KEIIKAN SEKKEI TOKYO Co. Ltd., Tokyo;
  • Jonathan Mueller, ASLA, Idaho Montana Chapter, hatchmueller PC, Coeur D’Alene, Idaho;
  • Robert R. Page, ASLA, Boston Chapter, National Park Service Olmsted Center for Landscape Preservation, Boston;
  • Martin Poirier, ASLA, San Diego Chapter, SPURLOCK POIRIER Landscape Architects, San Diego;
  • Gary D. Scott, ASLA, Iowa Chapter, City of West Des Moines, Parks and Recreation, West Des Moines, Iowa;
  • Kevin M. Shanley, ASLA, Texas Chapter, SWA Group, Houston;
  • Keith E. Simpson, ASLA, Connecticut Chapter, Keith E. Simpson Associates Inc., New Canaan, Connecticut;
  • William P. Vitek, ASLA, Colorado Chapter, EDAW Inc., Denver;
  • Lawrence W. Walquist Jr., ASLA, Ohio Chapter, Knowlton School of Architecture, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio;
  • Susan K. Weiler, ASLA, Pennsylvania/Delaware Chapter, Olin Partnership, Philadelphia;
  • Joanne M. Westphal, ASLA, Michigan Chapter, Landscape Architecture, Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan;
  • Joseph Yee, ASLA, Southern California Chapter, LPA Inc., Irvine, California; and
  • Len Zickler, ASLA, Washington State Chapter, AHBL Inc., Tacoma, Washington.

About ASLA
Founded in 1899, ASLA is the national professional association for landscape architects, representing more than 17,600 members in 48 professional chapters and 68 student chapters. Landscape architecture is a comprehensive discipline of land analysis, planning, design, management, preservation, and rehabilitation. ASLA promotes the landscape architecture profession and advances the practice through advocacy, education, communication, and fellowship. Members of the Society use their “ASLA” suffix after their names to denote membership and their commitment to the highest ethical standards of the profession.
Learn more about landscape architecture online at