American Society of Landscape Architects

Press Releases


Carolyn Mitchell






ASLA Releases 2005 Awards Call for Entries
New Residential Category Announced

Washington, DC, February 28, 2005—
The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) has released its 2005 Awards Call for Entries. The program features five categories of professional and student awards:

  • General Design;
  • Residential Design, a new category in partnership with Garden Design magazine;
  • Analysis and Planning;
  • Research; and
  • Communications.

The Call for Entries also includes the Community Service Award, recognizing landscape architects and landscape architecture students providing pro bono service to the community, and the Landmark Award, recognizing a project completed between 15 and 50 years ago, in partnership with the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

The deadline for receipt of the entry form is Friday, May 13, 2005, and submission materials must be received by Friday, May 27, 2005. Professional and student award recipients, their clients, and faculty advisors will be honored in a ceremony followed by a luncheon at the ASLA Annual Meeting and Expo, on Monday, October 10, 2005, in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

The professional awards jury convening in June will include:

Gary R. Hilderbrand, FASLA, principal, Reed Hilderbrand Associates, Inc., Watertown, MA, as the jury chair;

Beth Dunlop, architecture critic, The Miami Herald, Miami, Florida;

Edward A. Feiner, FAIA, Honorary ASLA, former chief architect, U.S. General Services Administration, director, Washington Center, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP, Washington, DC;

Terence G. Harkness, FASLA, professor of landscape architecture, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign;

Todd D. Johnson, FASLA, principal and chief design officer, Design Workshop, Inc., Denver, Colorado;

Miriam Lehrer, ASLA, founding principal, Mia Lehrer + Associates, Los Angeles, California;

Mario Schjetnan, FASLA, Grupo de Diseño Urbano, S.C., Mexico City, Mexico;

Suzanne Turner, FASLA, professor emerita, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana;

Barbara E. Wilks, FAIA, ASLA, founding principal, W Architecture and Landscape Architecture, New York City;

Bill Marken, editor-in-chief, Garden Design magazine, Los Altos, CA, will join the jury in considering submissions in the Residential Design category; and

Karen Jessup will join the awards jury in considering submissions for the Landmark Award, representing the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

The student awards jury includes:

Frederick R. Steiner, FASLA, dean, School of Architecture, University of Texas at Austin, as the jury chair;

F. Christopher Dimond, FASLA, AICP, senior vice president & chairman, Urban Design and Planning Services, HNTB Corporation, Kansas City, Missouri;

Ilze Jones, FASLA, AIA, president, Jones & Jones Architects and Landscape Architects, Ltd., Seattle, Washington;

Mikyoung Kim, ASLA, principal, Mikyoung Kim Design, associate professor, Rhode Island School of Design, Boston, Massachusetts;

M. Ann Mullins, FASLA, campus landscape architect, University of Colorado at Boulder;

Kenneth W. Smith, ASLA, principal, Ken Smith Landscape Architect, New York City; and

Susan S. Szenasy, editor-in-chief, Metropolis magazine, New York City.

Founded in 1899, ASLA is the national professional association for landscape architects representing more than 15,000 members. Landscape architecture is a comprehensive discipline of land analysis, planning, design, management, preservation, and rehabilitation. ASLA promotes the landscape architecture profession and advances the practice through advocacy, education, communication, and fellowship. Learn more about landscape architecture online at