ASLA Online ASLA Online ASLA Onine American Society of Landscape Architects
ASLA Online ASLA Online ASLA Online What's New Contact Us Site Map Search



Ashley Owens,
Manager of Public Relations
(202) 216-2371

American Society of Landscape Architects
636 Eye Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001-3736
TEL. 202-898-2444
FAX 202-898-1185

Press Releases

ASLA Releases 2004 Awards Call for Entries
Impressive Jury Announced

WASHINGTON, DC, January 29, 2004—The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) has released its 2004 Awards Call for Entries, available online at

The program features four categories of professional awards: Design; Analysis and Planning; Research; and Communications. The Call for Entries also includes the Community Service Award, recognizing landscape architects providing pro bono service to the community, and the Landmark Award, recognizing a project completed between 15 and 50 years ago. The National Trust for Historic Preservation is co-sponsoring the Landmark Award for the first time this year.

The deadline for receipt of the entry form is Friday, April 30, 2004, and submission materials must be postmarked by Friday, May 14, 2004. The jury will convene June 18-20, 2004, and ASLA will notify award recipients shortly thereafter. Results will be announced following notification to the award recipients. Award recipients and their clients will be honored in a ceremony followed by a luncheon at the ASLA Annual Meeting and Expo, on Saturday, October 30, 2004, in Salt Lake City, UT.

Members of the jury convening in June will include:

Frederick R. Steiner, ASLA, Dean, School of Architecture, University of Texas at Austin, Jury Chair;

Barbara Faga, FASLA, Chair of the Board, EDAW, Inc., Atlanta, GA;

F. Christopher Dimond, FASLA, Urban Design and Planning Chairman, HNTB Corporation, Kansas City, MO;

Richard L. Haag, FASLA, Principal, Richard Haag Associates, Inc., Seattle, WA;

Gary R. Hilderbrand, FASLA, Principal, Reed Hilderbrand Associates, Inc., Watertown, MA;

Bill Marken, Editor-in-Chief, Garden Design magazine, Los Altos, CA;

Janice Cervelli Schach, FASLA, Dean, College of Architecture, Arts, and Humanities, Clemson University;

Susan S. Szenasy, Editor-in-Chief, Metropolis magazine, New York, NY; and

Carol A. Whipple, FASLA, Senior Project Manager, National Park Service, Denver, CO.

Paul Daniel Marriott, Director of the National Trust for Historic Preservation’s Rural Heritage/Historic Roads Program, will join the awards jury in considering submissions for the Landmark Award.

Founded in 1899, ASLA is the national professional association for landscape architects representing 14,200 members. Landscape architecture is a comprehensive discipline of land analysis, planning, design, management, preservation, and rehabilitation. ASLA promotes the landscape architecture profession and advances the practice through advocacy, education, communication, and fellowship.


Copyright  1995-2001 by The American Society of Landscape Architects