Landscape Architects Announce 2009 Awards Call for Entries

Outstanding Juries Named for Professional and Student Awards Program


Washington, D.C., November 6, 2008 — Today, the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) announced the call for entries for its 2009 professional and student awards program. Each year, the ASLA awards program honors the best in landscape architecture from around the globe, while the student awards program provides a glimpse into the future of the profession. Visit for more information.

The prestige of the ASLA awards program relies in large part on the high-caliber juries that are convened each year to review submissions. Members of the professional awards jury convening in March 2009 include:

  • Mark Rios FASLA, FAIA, Rios Clementi Hale Studios, Los Angeles, Calif.; Jury Chair;
  • Vladimir Djurovic, International ASLA, Vladimir Djurovic Landscape Architecture, Broumana, Lebanon;
  • Sam Grawe, Dwell magazine, San Francisco, Calif.;
  • Linda Jewell, FASLA, University of California at Berkeley, Berkeley, Calif.;
  • Mario Nievera, ASLA, Mario Nievera Design, Inc., Palm Beach, Fla.;
  • Peter Lindsay Schaudt, FASLA, Hoerr Schaudt Landscape Architects, Chicago, Ill.;
  • Sunny Scully, FASLA, Lewis Scully Gionet Landscape Architecture, Washington, D.C.;
  • Elizabeth “Boo” Thomas, ASLA, Center for Planning Excellence, Baton Rouge, La.;Peter Walker, FASLA, PWP Landscape Architecture, Berkeley, Calif.; and William H. Tishler, FASLA, representing the National Trust for Historic Preservation, will join the jury for selection of The Landmark Award.

Members of the student awards jury convening in June 2009 will include:

  • Warren T. Byrd Jr., FASLA, Nelson Byrd Woltz Landscape Architects, Charlottesville, Va.; Jury Chair;
  • Charles Anderson, FASLA, Charles Anderson Landscape Architecture, Inc., Seattle, Wash.;
  • Edward L. Blake, ASLA, The Landscape Studio, Landscape Architecture LLC, Hattiesburg, Miss.;
  • Andrea Cochran, FASLA, Andrea Cochran Landscape Architecture, San Francisco, Calif.;
  • Patrick Condon, ASLA, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, B.C., Canada;
  • Ned Kramer, Architect magazine, Washington, DC;
  • Perry Howard, FASLA, North Carolina A&T State University, Greensboro, N.C.;
  • Mark Johnson, FASLA, Civitas, Inc., Denver, Colo.; and
  • Margie Ruddick, ASLA, WRT, Philadelphia, Pa.

The ASLA awards program features six categories: General Design; Residential Design; Analysis and Planning; Research, co-sponsored by the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture and Landscape Journal ; Communications; and The Landmark Award, co-sponsored by the National Trust for Historic Preservation. The student awards program also features the Student Community Service Award and Student Collaboration categories. Student award recipients will receive a complimentary full registration to the 2009 annual meeting and Award of Excellence winners in the Student Awards program will also receive travel and hotel accommodations for the meeting.

Entry forms and payment must be received by:

  • Friday, February 6, 2009, for Professional Awards
  • Friday, May 29, 2009, for Student Awards

Submission binders must be received by:

  • Friday, February 20, 2009, for Professional Awards
  • Friday, June 12, 2009, for Student Awards

Award recipients receive featured coverage in Landscape Architecture magazine and in many other design and construction industry and general-interest media. Award recipients, their clients and advisors will be honored at the awards presentation ceremony followed by a special champagne reception during the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in Chicago, September 18-21, 2009. The award winning projects will be featured in a video presentation to premier at the ceremony.



Karen T. Grajales
Manager, Public Relations 
tel: 1-202-216-2371