Reviving America’s Front Yard

Blue Ribbon Panel: Angela Dye, FASLA

Angela Dye, FASLA, is a licensed landscape architect with a masters in landscape architecture and community development and planning from the University of Colorado/Denver, where she received the ASLA Student Honor Award in 1984. She is president of the American Society of Landscape Architects. Dye has worked for federal and county government as well as the private sector. In 1998, she founded her ten-person firm, A DYE DESIGN, which specializes in urban design and planning, context sensitive design of transportation and transit, recreation and site design, higher education, and public art-oriented projects. She has always sought projects within the public sector that infill existing communities, create a sense of place, and honor natural and cultural systems.

Since 1982, Dye has been a dedicated volunteer, from Western Slope representative, Colorado Chapter/American Planning Association (APA); planning commissioner for Frisco, Colorado (1985-1986); to Arizona Chapter president (1993-1994), awards coordinator (1994-1996), and trustee (1997-2003). She served on the ASLA Executive Vice President Search Committee (2000), as chair of the Government Affairs Advisory Committee (2002-04), and as vice president of government affairs (2006-2007).

She currently serves on the Board of Directors of two local civic organizations, Valley Forward Association and Friends of the West Valley Recreation Corridor. She served as a member of the City of Phoenix Design Review Standards Committee (2002-2006). Since its inception, she has served as the AzASLA representative to the Maricopa Association of Governments (MAG) Transportation Enhancement Working Group (12 years). She is a frequent panelist, facilitator, and speaker, a past adjunct professor at Arizona State University, and artist selection panelist.

Dye has received honor awards from the Arizona Chapter/ASLA for the Phoenix Municipal Courthouse and the MAG Pedestrian Area Policy and Design Guidelines; from the Arizona Chapter/APA for Best Public Participation/Multi-Agency Coordination (State Route 179/ Village of Oak Creek to Sedona/ ADOT) and Best Ordinance/Regulation (Pedestrian Area Guidelines/ MAG); from Valley Forward Association for the President's Award (State Route 87 Four Peaks to Mesquite Wash), Crescordia Award for Sunnyslope Transit Center, and Merit Award for Loloma Station Transportation Center; and from the City of Tempe for Art in Private Development (America West Airlines Headquarters).

Green Since 1899

©2009 American Society of Landscape Architects