Updates from ASLA

ASLA 2019 Professional General Design Honor Award. Glenstone, Potomac, Maryland. PWP Landscape Architecture >

LAAB Welcomes New Board Members

The Landscape Architectural Accreditation Board (LAAB) welcomed three new board members during its Winter 2020 Board Meeting February 7-8 in San Francisco. LAAB elected Juanita Shearer-Swink, FASLA, as a practitioner member in the fall, while Professor Roxi Thoren, ASLA, and Christine Anderson, ASLA, were both selected as representatives by the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture (CELA) and the Council of Landscape Architectural Registration Boards (CLARB) respectively. Additionally, Lynn Ewanow (educator member) and Gilbert Holmes (public member) were elected to serve a second term. Their three-year terms will run through December 31, 2022. 

Juanita Shearer-Swink, FASLA, PLA, retired in May 2019 from GoTriangle, where she was most recently the Architectural Program Manager for the Durham-Orange Light Rail Transit Project. She participates as a mentor and visiting lecturer in the North Carolina State University College of Design Landscape Architecture Department. Throughout her 45-year career, Juanita has worked on numerous state chapter and national ASLA committees and initiatives, including the ASLA Diversity Summits for which she served as facilitator from 2012 to 2016.

Roxi Thoren, ASLA, is the Chair of the Department of Landscape Architecture at the University of Oregon and Director of the department’s Fuller Center for Productive Landscapes. Prior to serving as Department Chair, Thoren served as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in the College of Design, where she was responsible for curricular initiatives and accreditation across twenty-eight degree programs. Thoren is a Fulbright Fellow (Iceland), a Landscape Architecture Foundation research fellow, and a recipient of research and design awards from CELA, ASLA, and CLARB.

Christine Anderson, ASLA, is a Project Manager with Mark Thomas, a multi-disciplinary, California-based, professional services firm specializing in transportation planning, engineering, and design. She is an integral member of the Landscape Architecture and Urban Design Division. Christine has spent the better part of her career advocating for the advancement of the licensed profession of landscape architecture. She has served as President, Immediate-Past President, Chair of the Nominating Committee, Treasurer, Vice President and Liaison to the Exam Committee, and Region V Director for CLARB. Prior to CLARB service, she served on the Landscape Architects Technical Committee (licensing board of California) in multiple capacities, as the ASLA Sierra Chapter President, and as a committee member to the Landscape Architecture Department Advisory Council for Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. 

LAAB is the official accrediting organization for first professional programs in landscape architecture. The board’s mission is to evaluate, advocate for, and advance the quality of education in landscape architectural programs.

Leave a Comment