Updates from ASLA

ASLA 2019 Professional General Design Honor Award. Glenstone, Potomac, Maryland. PWP Landscape Architecture >

Call for Entries for Professional and Student Awards Now Open

ASLA 2019 Honor Award, General Design Category. Washington Fruit & Produce Company Headquarters, designed by Berger Partnership. Photo Credit: ©Kevin Scott

The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) is currently accepting entries for the 2020 Professional and Student Awards, the world’s most prestigious juried landscape architecture competition. 

This year, a new award category, Urban Design, will recognize projects that activate networks of spaces that mediate between social equity, economic viability, infrastructure, environmental stewardship, and place-making in the public and private realm. 

Award recipients receive featured coverage in Landscape Architecture Magazine, the magazine of ASLA, and in many other design and construction industry and general interest media. ASLA will honor the award recipients, their clients, and advisors at the awards presentation ceremony during the 2020 ASLA Conference on Landscape Architecture in Miami Beach, October 2-5.     

The prestige of the ASLA awards programs relies on the high-caliber juries that convene each year to review submissions. 

Members of the 2020 professional awards jury are:

  • Jose Alminana, FASLA, Chair, Andropogon, Philadelphia, PA
  • Jane Berger, Writer, Washington, DC
  • Ujijji Davis, ASLA, SmithGroup, Detroit, MI
  • Mark Hough, FASLA, Duke University, Durham, NC
  • Mark Johnson, FASLA, Civitas, Denver, CO 
  • Kathleen John-Alder, FASLA, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ
  • Mia Lehrer, FASLA, Studio-MLA, Los Angeles, CA
  • Tanya Olson, ASLA, Tallgrass Landscape Architecture, Custer, SD
  • Robert Rogers, Architects+Urban Designers, New York, NY

Stephanie A. Rolley, FASLA, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS, on behalf of the Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) will join the jury for the selection of the Research Category and Gale Newman, ASLA Texas A&M University, College Station, TX, on behalf of the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture (CELA). 

Members of the 2020 student awards jury are:  

  • Kristina Hill, Chair, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA
  • Adam Arvidson, FASLA, Landscape Architect, Writer, Minneapolis, MN
  • Lucia Athens, ASLA, Office of Sustainability, City of Austin, Austin, TX
  • Cermetrius L. Bohannon, ASLA, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA
  • Jonathon Geels, ASLA, Troyer Group, Grand Rapids, MI
  • Rikerrious Geter, Associate ASLA, GGN, Seattle, WA
  • Luis Gonzalez, ASLA, Lennar, Fairfax, VA
  • Melissa Henao-Robledo, ASLA, Landscape Forms, Kalamazoo, MI
  • Ernest C. Wong, FASLA, Site Design Group, Chicago, IL

Both the ASLA Professional and Student awards feature six categories: General Design; Residential Design; Urban Design, Analysis and Planning; Communications; and Research. The Professional Awards also include The Landmark Award, while the Student Awards include the Community Service and Student Collaboration categories.


Professional awards entry fees are due by Friday, February 21, 2020. All submissions are due by 11:59 PST on March 6, 2020.

Student awards entry fees are due by Monday, May 6, 2020. All submissions are due by 11:59 PST on Monday, May 11, 2020.

To start the entry process visit

In need of inspiration? View the ASLA 2019 professional and student award-winning projects.

The Professional and Student Awards are a program of the ASLA Fund.

Leave a Comment