Updates from ASLA

ASLA 2019 Professional General Design Honor Award. Glenstone, Potomac, Maryland. PWP Landscape Architecture >

LAF Innovation + Leadership Symposium and Awards Dinner

On June 13, join the Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) in Washington, DC for two events that showcase and celebrate leading-edge thinking and achievements in landscape architecture and sustainability. Learn more and purchase tickets here.

LAF Innovation + Leadership Symposium

In what promises to be a powerful event, the seven recipients of the 2018-2019 LAF Fellowship for Innovation and Leadership will present their projects on public housing landscapes, legislative frameworks for resilient urban waterfronts, immersive technologies, remediating coal ash ponds, cultural diversity and landscape interpretation, the calculation of landscape's carbon impacts, and environmental justice through community engagement and education.

The symposium is the culmination of the year-long LAF Fellowship for Innovation and Leadership, a unique program and $25,000 award that supports mid-career, senior-level, and emerging professionals as they develop and test new ideas that will drive the future of the landscape architecture discipline.

This symposium is approved for 2.0 Professional Development Hours (PDH) through the Landscape Architecture Continuing Education System (LA CES). Presentations will be followed by a cocktail reception where guests can mingle and meet the Fellows.

2019 LAF Awards Dinner

Immediately following the symposium, LAF will host an awards dinner to recognize the 2019 recipients of the LAF Medal and Founders’ Award, LAF’s highest honors for individuals and organizations that have made a significant and sustained contribution to the LAF mission of supporting the preservation, improvement and enhancement of the environment.

Joseph E. Brown, FASLA, former Chief Innovation Officer at AECOM, will be presented with the 2019 LAF Medal. As CEO of EDAW, Brown guided the firm to international prominence and brought landscape architecture to global audiences and scales. When the firm was acquired by AECOM in 2005, his continued leadership brought a landscape architecture perspective to the international multidisciplinary firm. As a writer and thought leader, Brown has encouraged the profession to think big and take a leadership role on built environment projects, no matter how large or complex.

The Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center at the University of Texas at Austin will receive the 2019 LAF Founders' Award. The Center, which is the official state botanic garden and arboretum of Texas, has demonstrated a long-standing commitment to sustainable landscape design, conservation, landscape restoration, and healthy ecosystems. The Center took a driving role in developing the Sustainable SITES Initiative. The SITES Guidelines, Rating System, and Certification is recognized as the most comprehensive system for developing sustainable landscapes.

The 2019 LAF Innovation + Leadership Symposium and Awards Dinner are sponsored by Landscape Forms, Land F/X, Roman Fountains, and Permaloc Corporation. The LAF Fellowship for Innovation and Leadership is made possible by support from the generous donors to the LAF: 50 and Forward Campaign.

Leave a Comment