Updates from ASLA

ASLA 2019 Professional General Design Honor Award. Glenstone, Potomac, Maryland. PWP Landscape Architecture >

CLARB Elects New Officers and Announces Award

The Council of Landscape Architectural Registration Boards (CLARB) elected new officers and regional directors to its board of directors, as well as members of its committee on nominations, at its annual meeting held September 27-29 in Toronto, Ontario.

2018–2019 CLARB Board of Directors (click to view press releases for newly elected individuals)

President – Philip J. Meyer
President-Elect – Stanley Williams 
Vice President – Karen Kiest 
Secretary – Robert Gunderson 
Treasurer – Cary Baird
Past President – Christine Anderson 
Director, Region 1 – Mark J. Zarrillo
Director, Region 2 – Patrick Beam
Director, Region 3 – Chuck Smith
Director, Region 4 – Dean Pearson 
Director, Region 5 – Joel Kurokawa
MBE Director – Julie Hildebrand 
Executive Director – Joel Albizo (ex-officio

2018–2019 CLARB Committee on Nominations (click to view press releases for newly elected individuals)

Committee members – Craig Coronato, Edward Kinney, Carisa McMullen, and Ellen White
Chair – Christine Anderson

President’s Award
At this year’s Annual Meeting, President Christine Anderson presented Jenny Owen, former Mississippi Member Board Executive and past CLARB MBE Director, with the CLARB Presidential Recognition Award. Owen was awarded this honor for her leadership and dedication to serving the CLARB community and commitment to protecting the public’s health, safety and welfare through common sense regulation of landscape architecture.


Since 1970, CLARB has been dedicated to ensuring that all individuals who affect the natural and built environment through the practice of landscape architecture are sufficiently qualified to do so. CLARB works to protect the public’s health, safety, and welfare by establishing and promoting professional licensure standards for education, experience, and examination required for the profession of landscape architecture. CLARB’s members include the licensure boards that regulate the profession of landscape architecture in the United States; District of Columbia; Puerto Rico; and the Canadian provinces of Alberta, British Columbia, and Ontario.

Leave a Comment