Product News by Forms + Surfaces, Victor Stanley, ANOVA, and Green Roofs for Healthy Cities

Product News by Forms + Surfaces, Victor Stanley, ANOVA, and Green Roofs for Healthy Cities


Laurie Olin Receives 2012 National Medal of Arts

Laurie Olin, FASLA, was one of 11 peoples, along with the Washington Performance Arts Society of Washington, D.C., awarded the National Medal of Arts on July 10, 2013, from President Obama in the East Room of the White House. Twelve others received the National Medal of Humanities at the same ceremony.

Olin joins only three other landscape architect recipients: Lawrence Halprin in 2002, Dan Kiley in 1997, and Ian McHarg in 1990.

Olin’s citation reads, to “Laurie Olin for his contributions as a preeminent landscape architect. Renowned for his acute sense of harmony and balance between nature and design, Mr. Olin has dedicated his energy to shaping many iconic spaces around the world and to educating new leaders in his art.

The National Endowment for the Arts was established by the Congress in 1965 as an independent agency of the Federal Government. To date, the NEA has awarded more than $4 billion to support artistic excellence, creativity, and innovation for the benefit of individuals and communities. The NEA extends its work through partnerships with state arts agencies, local leaders, other federal agencies, and the philanthropic sector.

The National Endowment for the Humanities was created in 1965 as an independent Federal agency, the National Endowment for the Humanities supports research and learning in history, literature, philosophy, and other areas of the humanities by funding selected, peer-reviewed proposals from around the nation. The Endowment brings high-quality historical and cultural experiences to large and diverse audiences in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, and five territories.

The 2012 National Medal of Arts recipients are:
Herb Alpert, Malibu, California
Lin Arison, Bal Harbour, Florida
Joan Myers Brown, Philadelphia
Renée Fleming, New York City
Ernest Gaines, Oscar, Louisiana
Ellsworth Kelly, Spencertown, New York
Tony Kushner, New York City
George Lucas, San Anslemo, California
Elaine May, New York City
Laurie Olin, Philadelphia
Allen Toussaint, New Orleans, Louisiana
Washington Performing Arts Society, Washington, D.C.

2012 National Humanities Medal:
Edward L. Ayers, Henrico, Virginia
William G. Bowen, Princeton, New Jersey
Jill Ker Conway, Boston
Natalie Zemon Davis, Toronto, Canada
Frank Deford, New York City
Joan Didion, New York City
Robert Putnam¸ Cambridge, Massachusetts
Marilynne Robinson¸ Iowa City, Iowa
Kay Ryan, Fairfax, California
Robert B. Silvers, New York City
Anna Deavere Smith¸ New York City
Camilo José Vergara, New York City

For more information, visit the White House website.

Leave a Comment

Home | Contact Us | Copyright ASLA 2018