Product News by Forms + Surfaces, Victor Stanley, ANOVA, and Green Roofs for Healthy Cities

Product News by Forms + Surfaces, Victor Stanley, ANOVA, and Green Roofs for Healthy Cities


Call for Entries: EDRA Annual Great Places Awards

Do you know a Great Place?

The Environmental Design Research Association (EDRA) is now accepting submissions for the 15th Annual Great Places Awards for Place Design, Place Planning, Place Research, and a Book Award. The EDRA Great Places Awards seek to premiate work that combines expertise in design, research, and practice and that contributes to the creation of dynamic, humane places that engage our attention and imagination. Award-winning projects reflect an interdisciplinary approach that is enduring, sustainable, and concerned with human factors in the design of the built environment.

Entries are welcome from the full breadth of environmental design and related research activities, including architecture, landscape architecture, planning, urban design, interior design, lighting design, graphic design, environmental psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography, and the physical sciences.

A panel of illustrious jurors will select winners from four categories: place design, place planning, place research, and a book prize. This year’s distinguished jurors include Julian Bonder, principal, Wodiczko + Bonder; Gayle Epp, partner, EJP Consulting; Valerie Fletcher, executive director, Institute for Human Centered Design; Peter M. Hourihan, principal & director of research, Cannon Design; and Mikyoung Kim, principal & design director, Mikyoung Kim Design.

NEW THIS YEAR: Entrants can submit projects for consideration in the Healthy + Healing Places Exhibition , on display May 29–June 1, 2013, in conjunction with EDRA’s 2013 conference, EDRA44Providence [].

Jurors for the Healthy + Healing Places Exhibition include Belinda Borrelli, professor of psychiatry and director of the program in nicotine and tobacco at Brown Medical School and the Miriam Hospital; Tom Sieniewicz, principal & partner, NBBJ; Elizabeth Dean Hermann, professor of landscape architecture, Rhode Island School of Design; Elefteris Pavlides, professor of architecture, Roger Williams University; and Anne Tate, founder of City-State, the Urban Design Lab, and professor, Rhode Island School of Design.

For submission guidelines, rules, and official entry form, please click here, or visit the website. All entries for the 2013 Great Places Awards must be received by January 27, 2013.

Leave a Comment

Home | Contact Us | Copyright ASLA 2018