Updates from ASLA

LAF Scholarship Deadlines Approaching

The Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF), the leader in offering scholarships for landscape architecture students, reminds students and faculty about its 2012 award opportunities, with nearly $70,000 available. Help spread the word to qualified candidates!

GCA/Douglas Dockery Thomas Fellowship in Garden History and Design
Applications due: February 1
This $4,000 award is given annually to a graduate student to support projects that further garden history and design and/or examine the future of gardens and their unique place in our environment.

Leadership in Landscape Scholarships
Applications due: February 15
LAF offers eight different awards ranging from $2,000 to $5,000. Eligible candidates are undergraduate or graduate students enrolled at colleges and universities in the United States and Canada. Additional requirements vary by scholarship. Awards include:

Olmsted Scholars Program
Nominations due: February 15; submissions due: March 15
LAF’s Olmsted Scholars Program and $25,000 prize is the premier national award and recognition program for landscape architecture students. Each university with an LAAB or CSLAAC-accredited landscape architecture program may nominate one exceptional student to be the school’s University Olmsted Scholar and compete for the national award. Graduate students or undergraduates currently in their fourth or fifth year are eligible.

The Olmsted Scholars Program is made possible with support from Founding Sponsors: EDSA, HOK, OLIN, the Edith Harrison Henderson Fund, and the Harriet Barnhardt Wimmer Fund/Wimmer Yamada and Caughey; Annual Sponsors: Steven G. King, FASLA; and Special Commitment: ASLA.

Since 1986, the Landscape Architecture Foundation has awarded nearly $850,000 in scholarships and fellowships to more than 450 students. Visit the LAF website for information about establishing a scholarship or contributing to the Olmsted Scholars Program.

Leave a Comment