Honors & Awards


The Olmsted Medal

The Olmsted Medal

Purpose: The Olmsted Medal was instituted in 1990 to recognize individuals, organizations, agencies, or programs outside the profession of landscape architecture for environmental leadership, vision, and stewardship. The Medal honors Frederick Law Olmsted, considered the founder of the American landscape architecture profession and steward of the environment.

Eligibility: Individuals, organizations, agencies, or programs outside the landscape architecture profession that have demonstrated consistent and effective environmental leadership, vision, and stewardship.

Frequency: One medal is awarded annually.

Nomination Process: Nominations may be made by an ASLA professional member or an ASLA chapter. Nominations are to be kept confidential. Nominees should not be made aware of their nominations or asked to participate in the preparation of their nomination materials.

Each nomination to include:

  • A letter of nomination describing the nominee's qualifications for the medal; the letter may be no more than five (5) pages in length. Include three (3) to four (4) images representing the nominee’s work (in high resolution, .jpg format).
  • Photo of nominee.
  • Up to five (5) letters of endorsement.
Please send nomination packages to:
Olmsted Medal Nominations
c/o Carolyn Mitchell
636 Eye Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001-3736

Selection Process: The Olmsted Medal recipients are selected on the basis of their commitment to safeguarding our natural heritage either nationally or regionally. The nominee's work may take the form of policy or action, embodying ASLA's commitment to stewardship of the land and quality of life. The Executive Committee reviews all nominations and forwards no more than two nominees to the Board of Trustees (BOT) for final selection. The BOT selects the medal recipient by secret ballot during the mid-year meeting (held in the Spring). The medal recipient is notified by the president and invited to attend the ASLA Annual Conference (held in the Fall) where the medal will be awarded.

Questions? Contact Carolyn Mitchell, Honors and Awards Coordinator, 202-216-2331
NOTE: Email subject line must read "OLMSTED MEDAL." e-mail cmitchell@asla.org  

Recent Recipients

2003   Robert F. Kennedy, Jr.
2002   The Hon. Gaylord A. Nelson
2001   President Jimmy Carter & Rosalynn Carter
2000   The Hon. Parris N. Glendening
1999   Grady E. Clay, Hon. ASLA
1998   1000 Friends of Oregon
1997   Trustees of the Reservations
1996   The Hon. Cecil D. Andrus
1995   The Hon. Bruce Babbitt
1994   The Hon. Henry G. Cisneros
1993   The Trust for Public Land
1992   The Hon. Albert Gore, Jr
1991   The Nature Conservancy
1990   The Hon. William K. Reilly


ASLA Information Request