ASLA Inducts 2005 President




President-Elect, Three New Vice Presidents Round Out Leadership Team

Washington, DC, November 17, 2004—Patrick A. Miller, Ph.D., FASLA , has been inducted as president of the American Society of Landscape Architects for 2005.

Miller has worked in public, private, and academic practice in both the United States and Canada. For the past 18 years he has taught in the Landscape Architecture Department at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University , heading the department for 14 years. Through his extensive writing, teaching, and practice, Miller has been a tireless advocate of landscape architecture for more than three decades, both nationally and internationally.

Miller received a bachelors degree in landscape architecture from California Polytechnic University, Pomona, an MLA from the University of California at Berkeley, and a Ph.D. from the University of Michigan. A licensed landscape architect since 1973, he has received numerous awards and considerable recognition for his work.

Looking ahead to his year as ASLA president, Miller believes that landscape architects can provide solutions to some of the biggest problems facing society today, including public health, environmental quality, urban sprawl, and security. “Landscape architects are positioned to lead collaborative efforts that can greatly improve quality of life,” said Miller. “By applying principles of design, planning, and land use, we can create healthy environments in which to live, work, and play. I’m looking forward to working with my colleagues on these challenges and others facing our nation and our world.”

Dennis Carmichael, FASLA , was inducted as president-elect for 2005. Carmichael is a principal at EDAW, Inc. , in Alexandria, VA.

Three new vice presidents were also inducted and will serve two year terms:

William T. Eubanks III, ASLA , vice president of membership. Eubanks is director of urban design at Seamon, Whiteside and Associates in Mt. Pleasant, SC.

Donald Leary, ASLA , vice president of finance. Leary is a principal at Land Design, LLC , in Perrysburg, OH.

Robert B. Tilson, ASLA , vice president of information and practice. Tilson is president of the Tilson Group , located in Vienna, VA.

Continuing service on the ASLA executive committee are:

Susan L.B. Jacobson, FASLA , immediate past president of ASLA. She is the president of Bartells/Jacobsen Design, located in Glen Ellyn, IL.

Karen C. Hanna, FASLA , vice president of education. Hanna is Dean of the College of Environmental Design at California Polytechnic Institute, Pomona, CA .

John H. Nicolaus, ASLA , vice president of communication. Nicolaus is a principal at The HLA Group Sacramento, CA.

Amy L. Schneckenburger, FASLA , vice president of public affairs. She is deputy director, project management, at Yosemite National Park in El Portal, CA.

Founded in 1899, ASLA is the national professional association for landscape architects representing more than 14,800 members. Landscape architecture is a comprehensive discipline of land analysis, planning, design, management, preservation, and rehabilitation. ASLA promotes the landscape architecture profession and advances the practice through advocacy, education, communication, and fellowship. Learn more about landscape architecture online at



Karen T. Grajales
Manager, Public Relations 
tel: 1-202-216-2371