ASLA 2006 Awards Call For Entries Released

Outstanding Juries Named for Professional and Student Programs

2005 Awards Video

Click on the links below to see videos of the 2005 Award winners.


WASHINGTON, DC, October 24, 2005--- The American Society of Landscape Architects has released its 2006 call for entries for its professional and student awards program. Each year, the ASLA awards program honors the best in landscape architecture from around the globe, while the student awards program provides a glimpse into the future of the profession.

Members of the professional awards jury convening in March 2006 will include:

  • Todd D. Johnson, FASLA, Design Workshop, Inc., Denver Colo., jury chair
  • Pamela G. Burton, ASLA, Pamela Burton & Company, Santa Monica, Calif.
  • Malcolm D. Cairns, FASLA, Ball State University, Muncie, Ind.
  • Andrea Cochran, ASLA, Andrea Cochran Landscape Architecture, San Francisco, Calif.
  • David Dillon, Dallas Morning News, Dallas, Texas
  • Paul Rookwood, ASLA, AICP, Wallace Roberts & Todd, LLC, Philadelphia, Pa.
  • Elizabeth Barlow Rogers, Honorary ASLA, Foundation for Landscape Studies, New York, N.Y.
  • Janet Rosenberg, ASLA, Janet Rosenberg + Associates, Inc., Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Rodney L. Swink, FASLA, North Carolina Main Street Center, Raleigh, N.C.
  • Kenneth R. Brooks, ASLA, Arizona State University, Tempe, Ariz.

Bill Marken, editor-in-chief of Garden Design magazine in Los Altos, Calif. will join the jury for the Residential Category and Karen Jessup, Ph.D., representing the National Trust for Historic Preservation, will join the jury for selection of the Landmark Award.

Members of the student awards jury convening in June 2006 will include:

  • Gary R. Hilderbrand, FASLA, Reed Hilderbrand Associates, Inc., Watertown, Mass., Jury Chair
  • Ignacio Bunster-Ossa, ASLA, Wallace Roberts & Todd, LLC, Philadelphia, Pa.
  • Richard Hawks, FASLA, State University of New York, Syracuse, N.Y.
  • Mia M. Lehrer, ASLA, Mia Lehrer+ Associates, Santa Monica, Calif.
  • Elizabeth Meyer, FASLA, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Va.
  • Thomas R. Oslund, FASLA, oslund.and.assoc., Minneapolis, Minn.
  • Peter Lindsay Schaudt, ASLA, Peter Lindsay Schaudt Landscape Architecture, Inc., Chicago, Ill.

The ASLA awards program is divided into five categories: General Design; Residential Design, co-sponsored by Garden Design magazine; Analysis and Planning; Research, co-sponsored by the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture; and Communications. The call for entries also includes the Landmark Award, co-sponsored by the National Trust for Historic Preservation, recognizing a landscape architecture project completed between 15 and 50 years ago. The student awards program also features a Student Collaboration category and a Student Community Service Award.

Professional award entry forms are due by Friday, February 10, 2006. Professional submissions must be received by Friday, February 24, 2006. Student entry forms are due by Friday, May 19, 2006. Student submissions must be received by Friday, June 2, 2006.

Award recipients and their clients will be honored in a ceremony followed by a luncheon at the ASLA Annual Meeting and Expo, in October 2006, in Minneapolis, Minn. The award winning projects will be featured in a video presentation to premier at the ceremony.

The 2006 Awards call for entries and juror photographs are available online at



Karen T. Grajales
Manager, Public Relations 
tel: 1-202-216-2371