ASLA Selects 2006 Medal, Community Service, and Firm Award Winners

Chicago Mayor Richard M. Daley Among Those Honored


WASHINGTON, June 5, 2006 The Board of Trustees of the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) has selected the recipients of the 2006 Medals, Community Service, and Landscape Architecture Firm Award, to be presented on October 9, 2006, during the ASLA Annual Meeting in Minneapolis, Minn.

Cameron R. Man, FASLA

Cameron R. Man, FASLA
Cameron R. Man, FASLA, (Miss.) will receive the ASLA Medal -- the highest honor the ASLA may bestow upon a landscape architect—for his lifetime achievements and contributions to the profession, the welfare of the public, and the environment. Man is a professor and head of the Department of Landscape Architecture at Mississippi State University. He has taught and graduated 950 baccalaureates, 115 master's candidates, and 225 recipients in landscape contracting and management. Man has also had a direct impact on the profession as a past president of ASLA, the British Columbia Society of Landscape Architects, the Manitoba Association of Landscape Architects, the ASLA Mississippi Chapter, the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture (CELA, on two occasions), the CELA Foundation, and the Landscape Architecture Foundation.

Steve Martino, FASLA

Steve Martino, FASLA
Steve Martino, FASLA, (Ariz.) will be awarded the ASLA Design Medal in honor of his exceptional accomplishments in design. Martino is the principal of Phoenix-based Steve Martino & Associates and a Fellow of ASLA. Martino has won countless awards throughout his career. Most recently, he received ASLA’s 2006 Award of Excellence in Residential Design. As powerfully regional and distinctive as Martino’s work is, it has influenced landscape architecture far and wide. He has been in the vanguard of green design in the southwest for decades, using native and low-water plants to create lush, modern landscapes. Martino uses native plants in highly imaginative and artful ways, convincing his clients to use this approach and inspiring practitioners across the country.

Olin Partnership
Olin Partnership (Pa.) will receive the ASLA Landscape Architecture Firm Award. The Olin Partnership has designed such award winning projects as Columbus Circle (New York); the J. Paul Getty Center (Los Angeles); Battery Park City (New York); and the Art Institute of Chicago. In 2003, ASLA bestowed The Landmark Award and four additional national awards on the Olin Partnership in the categories of design, analysis, and planning. In 2005 Laurie Olin, FASLA, received the ASLA Design Medal and was a keynote speaker at the Society's Annual Meeting in Fort Lauderdale.

Donald L. Collins, FASLA
Donald L. Collins, FASLA, (S.C.) will receive the Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal for his sustained and significant contributions to landscape architecture education. Collins has been a member of ASLA since 1968 and has spent more than 35 years shaping the minds of countless students in the fields of landscape architecture and architecture.  He was the driving force behind establishing the landscape architecture program at Clemson University. During his tenure, he has taught 100 percent of the university’s graduating landscape architects and more than 50 percent of graduating architects. He served as the faculty representative to the South Carolina Chapter of ASLA and coordinated the student award program for many years. His strategies for teaching design studio have won awards from the American Institute of Architects Honors Program and the Award of Distinction from CELA.

Hugh C. Miller FAIA, Honorary ASLA
The LaGasse Medal will be awarded to architect Hugh C. Miller FAIA, Honorary ASLA, (Va.) for his leadership in management and conservancy of natural resources and public lands. During his 28 years with the National Park Service, Miller has promoted historic preservation thought and practice throughout the United States. As staff architect he initiated the study of cultural landscape in the Park System and created policies and procedures for their preservation. In July 1989 he became the first director of the Virginia Department of Historic Resources. Here he expanded the survey and documentation of historic places for listing on the National Register and as Virginia Landmarks. In addition, Miller also received the ASLA Virginia Chapter’s Allied Professional Award in April 2006, recognizing his outstanding contributions to the profession of landscape architecture.

Mayor Richard M. Daley, Honorary ASLA
The Olmsted Medal will be awarded to Mayor Richard M. Daley, Honorary ASLA, (Ill.) for his environmental leadership, vision, and stewardship. Mayor Daley is a national leader who has created planning, landscape architecture, and environmental programs for his city. Under his leadership, Chicago has added more than 120 new acres of parkland and many new recreation facilities. The mayor's initiatives include a Chicago Landscape Ordinance, which won the ASLA Illinois Chapter President’s Award in 2000, reforming the Chicago zoning code, and incorporating green space through all neighborhoods; creating award-winning streetscape and medians; and enacting environmental, urban forestry, and green roofs initiatives. Due in large part to his efforts, Chicago was voted one of the “10 Best Places to Live” by Money magazine in 2002.

Randal Scott Romie, ASLA
Randal Scott Romie, ASLA, (N.C.) will be awarded the Community Service Award for his sustained, pro bono service to the community demonstrating sound principles and values of landscape architecture.  During his more than 15 years of community service in Greensboro, North Carolina, Romie has devoted nearly 2,000 volunteer hours—a full work year—to Greensboro Beautiful, a non-profit volunteer organization that conserves and enhances the beauty and ecology of the area. Among dozens of projects, he has helped to beautify sites along I-85 and created a master plan and renovated gardens for the Bicentennial Garden/Caldwell Park. Romie served as vice-chair, chair, and past chair of Greensboro Beautiful from 1997 to present and helped gain passage of the city’s tree preservation ordinance. He has been widely recognized for his designs and installations, receiving Honor Awards from the North Carolina chapter of ASLA for his work. He has also received the Greensboro Beautiful’s Volunteer Service Award, a certificate of appreciation from Governor James Hunt, and the Robert S. Garrand Award of Distinction for enhancing Greensboro’s appearance and quality of life.


Karen T. Grajales
Manager, Public Relations 
tel: 1-202-216-2371