New ASLA Medal Honors Emerging Professionals in Landscape Architecture

Washington, D.C. (January 9, 2020) – The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) has long celebrated excellence in landscape architecture through their Honors & Awards programs. This year, ASLA is introducing a new honor to recognize the outstanding and innovative contributions of emerging leaders in the field.

The new category will recognize an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership and considerable contribution to the profession of landscape architecture, the prospective recipient’s community, and/or a firm or design team; early in one’s career.

Nominations for this category, as well as the other types, are now being accepted. The deadline for nomination submissions for the 2020 honors program is Friday, February 7, 2020.

Background on ASLA Honors

Each year, ASLA bestows various honors upon landscape architects, programs, and firms that have shown outstanding work in the field. Potential honorees must be nominated by an ASLA professional member or ASLA chapter. Nominations are to be kept confidential. Honorees are chosen by the ASLA Board of Trustees at their annual Spring Meeting by majority vote.

There are now nine honors awarded by ASLA. In addition, up to eight Honorary Members are inducted into the Society each year.


Media inquiries

Landscape Architecture Magazine

Jennifer Reut 

The Dirt
Jared Green

The Field
Ali Hay