ASLA Announces 2019 Honors Recipients

Washington, D.C. (June 20, 2019)—Today, the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) announces the 2019 Honors recipients. Selected by ASLA’s Board of Trustees, the honors represent the highest awards ASLA presents each year. Honors will be presented at ASLA’s annual President’s Dinner during the Conference on Landscape Architecture in San Diego, CA this November. 

This year’s recipients are:

  • ASLA Medal Winner: Carol Franklin, FASLA
  • ASLA Design Medal Winner: Douglas Reed, FASLA
  • ASLA Community Service Award: Kimberlee Douglas, ASLA
  • The Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal: Dr. Lee-Anne Milburn, FASLA
  • The LaGasse Medal – Landscape Architect Professional: Julie Hensley, ASLA
  • The LaGasse Medal – Non-Landscape Architect Professional: Sally Jewell
  • The Landscape Architecture Firm Award: Heritage Landscapes, LLC
  • The Landscape Architecture Medal of Excellence: The Landscape Architecture Foundation
  • The Olmsted Medal: Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (RI)

In addition, ASLA is proud to announce the induction of six honorary members in 2019. Honorary membership is among the greatest honors ASLA may bestow upon non-landscape architects in recognition of notable service to the profession. Since its inception in 1899, ASLA has inducted only 231 honorary members.
For more information, visit our 2019 Honors Website.

This year’s honorary members are:

  • Thomas Bradshaw
  • Candice Damon
  • Daniel Martin
  • Kitty Stoner
  • Tom Stoner
  • Marc Treib


Media inquiries

Landscape Architecture Magazine

Jennifer Reut 

The Dirt
Jared Green

The Field
Ali Hay