ASLA 2012 Awards Call for Entries

Outstanding Juries Named for Professional and Student Awards Programs


Washington, D.C., November, 29th 2011 - The American Society of Landscape Architects has released its 2012 Awards Call for Entries for the 2012 professional and student awards, the premiere awards programs for the profession. Award recipients will receive featured coverage in the September issue of Landscape Architecture Magazine and in many other design and construction industry and general-interest media. Award recipients, their clients, and student advisors also will be honored at the awards presentation ceremony during the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in Phoenix, September 28 - October 1, 2012. The award winning projects will be featured in a video presentation at the ceremony and on the awards website following the event.

The prestige of the ASLA awards programs relies on the high-caliber juries that are convened each year to review submissions.  Members of this year’s professional awards jury are:

•    José Almiñana, ASLA, Andropogon Associates, Philadelphia,  Jury Chair
•    Stephen T. Ayers, AIA, The Architect of the Capitol, Washington, D.C.
•    Gail Brinkmann, ASLA, City of Phoenix Street Transportation Department, Phoenix
•    Kathryn L. Gleason, FASLA, Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y.
•    Christopher Hawthorne, Architecture Critic, Los Angeles, Times, Los Angeles
•    Mikyoung Kim, ASLA, Mikyoung Kim Design, Boston
•    Tom Leader, ASLA, Tom Leader Studio, Berkeley, Calif.
•    Thomas R. Oslund, FASLA, oslund.and.assoc., Minneapolis
•    Jim Schuessler, ASLA, BNIM, Kansas City, Mo.

Members of the student awards jury are:

•    David Yocca, FASLA, Conservation Design Forum, Elmhurst, Ill., Jury Chair
•    Sheila A. Brady, FASLA, Oehme, van Sweden and Associates, Washington, D.C.
•    Mark A. Focht, FASLA, Fairmount Park Commission, Philadelphia
•    M. Paul Friedberg, FASLA, M. Paul Friedberg & Partners, New York City
•    Paul H. Gobster, FASLA, USDA Forest Service, Evanston, Ill.    
•    Debra Guenther, ASLA, Mithun, Seattle
•    Linda Jewell, FASLA, University of California at Berkeley
•    Chris Reed, ASLA, Stoss Landscape Urbanism, Boston
•    Andrew Wilcox, ASLA, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona, Calif.

Both the ASLA professional and students awards feature five categories: General Design; Residential Design; Analysis and Planning; Communications; and Research (the Professional Awards are co-sponsored by the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture). The Professional Awards also include The Landmark Award, while the Student Awards include the Student Community Service Award and Student Collaboration categories.  
Entry forms and payment must be received by:

•    Friday, February 3, 2012, for ASLA Professional Awards
•    Friday, April 27, 2012, for ASLA Student Awards

Submission binders must be received by:

•    Friday, February 17, 2012, for ASLA Professional Awards
•    Friday, May 11, 2012, for ASLA Student Awards

In need of inspiration?  View the ASLA 2011 professional and student award-winning projects.


Kevin Fry
Director, PR and

JR Taylor
PR Coordinator