ASLA Names Six New Honorary Members


Washington, D.C., October 25, 2011 – Today, the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) announced the selection of six new honorary members to the Society for their work in education, activism and dedication to the landscape architecture profession. The presentation ceremony will take place at the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in San Diego on October 29.

Honorary membership is among the highest honors ASLA can bestow upon non-landscape architects in recognition of notable service to the profession. Since its inception in 1899, ASLA has inducted only 152 honorary members.

This year’s honorees are:


Shaun Saer Duncan, Co-Chair, The Cultural Landscape Foundation (TCLF)
Under Duncan’s leadership, TCLF has grown from a volunteer enterprise to a fully-staffed organization helping preserve America’s designed landscape heritage. She works to organize educational events, conduct research, raise funds and serve as a spokesperson to create an understanding and appreciation of the country’s cultural and historic landscapes. 

View nominating and supporting materials. 


Robert Harris, Director, Landscape Architecture Studies, University of Southern California School of Architecture
A distinguished educator, Harris transformed the landscape architecture certificate program at USC into the first accredited professional degree at the graduate level in only a few years. 
He is a passionate advocate for the critical and central role of the profession of landscape architecture in improving the urban condition. 

View nominating and supporting materials. 


Julia McFeely Lent, Director, Government Affairs, American Society of Landscape Architects
Since joining ASLA in 2001, Lent has trained, supported and launched an entire generation of landscape architects as advocates for sound public policy and best management practices. Among her many achievements advancing the profession, she was instrumental in accomplishing the 50 by 2010 campaign that secured licensure acts in all 50 states.

View nominating and supporting materials. 


Ann Looper Pryor, Managing Director, Publishing and Resource Development, American Society of Landscape Architects
Her nine-year tenure at ASLA has included the successful launch and stewardship of numerous critical programs: public relations,, membership outreach, fundraising, awards and many others that raise visibility and advance the profession of landscape architecture. Most recently she successfully helped steer the flagship Landscape Architecture Magazine through a major redesign and digital launch. 

View nominating and supporting materials. 


Nathaniel Reed, Conservationist
For more than 50 years, Reed has devoted his time, energy and personal resources to the protection of the natural environment. As a former Assistant Secretary of the Interior and environmental advisor to seven Florida governors, his efforts have helped preserve Florida’s natural systems for future generations to enjoy. 

View nominating and supporting materials. 


Stan Skalka, Co-Founder, Victor Stanley Inc 
As co-founder of Victor Stanley, Skalka is one of the greatest supporters of ASLA, the Society’s programs and landscape architecture on a professional and personal level. He is true ambassador for the profession, going out of his way to help landscape architects meet their counterparts from other communities, countries and cultures. 

View nominating and supporting materials.  


Kevin Fry
Director, PR and

JR Taylor
PR Coordinator