ASLA Announces 2011 Student Awards

Prestigious jury of landscape architects, academics and press selects 40 projects for recognition


Washington, D.C., September 13, 2011 – The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) has announced the winners of the 2011 Student Awards. Full winning project information, along with high resolution images, can be viewed at

ASLA will present awards to 40 projects in the categories of General Design, Residential Design, Analysis and Planning, Communications, Research, Community Service and Student Collaboration. The presentation ceremony and reception will take place on Wednesday, November 2, at the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in San Diego.

This year’s jury included:

Mario Nievera, ASLA, Chair

Thomas W. Balsley, FASLA

Gary A. Brown, FASLA

James Burnett, FASLA

Shane A. Coen, ASLA

Diane Dale, FASLA

M. Elen Deming, ASLA

John King, Hon. ASLA

Karen A. Phillips, FASLA.


Kevin Fry
Director, PR and

JR Taylor
PR Coordinator