ASLA Announces 2010 Honors

Daugherty wins ASLA Medal, EDSA to receive Firm Award


Washington, D.C., June 30, 2010 – The Board of Trustees of the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) has selected the recipients of its 2010 honors, the highest awards the Society presents each year. The medals, the Community Service Award, and the Landscape Architecture Firm Award will be presented during the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in Washington, D.C., September 10-13.

ASLA Medal: Edward L. Daugherty, FASLA
Edward L. Daugherty, FASLA, will receive the ASLA Medal, the Society’s highest honor for a landscape architect. Daugherty’s career spans over 50 years of excellence. After military service during World War II, he graduated from Harvard University’s Graduate School of Design in 1951, earning a Fulbright scholarship the following year. After studying in the United Kingdom, he returned to his Southern roots by starting a practice in Atlanta where he mentored generations of landscape architects. His many works include the Georgia Governor’s Mansion, Avon corporate headquarters and a collaboration with Thomas Church on the School for Continuing Education at the University of Georgia. 

ASLA Design Medal: James van Sweden, FASLA
James van Sweden, FASLA, will receive the ASLA Design Medal. Along with Wolfgang Oehme, he founded Oehme, van Sweden & Associates in 1975 and helped launch the “New American Garden” style of more naturalistic, four-season landscapes that pay homage to the American meadow movement originally inspired by Jens Jensen. Examples of van Sweden’s work include the World War II Memorial on the National Mall; North Point Park in Boston; the United States Embassy in Kabul, Afghanistan; and the New American and Friendship Gardens at the U.S. National Arboretum, along with hundreds of residential designs. He is also a prolific author whose work has received honors from the Garden Writers Association of America and the American Horticultural Society.

Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal: John F. Collins, FASLA
John F. Collins, FASLA, will receive the Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal in recognition for sustained excellence in landscape architecture education. Throughout his career, Collins demonstrated an unwavering commitment to educating young professionals. He has served as a lecturer, professor and visiting studio critic at major landscape architecture schools, including the University of Pennsylvania, Penn State University, Harvard, Cornell, Drexel, University of Virginia, Louisiana State University and the School of Architecture and Planning in New Delhi, India, before ultimately retiring from Temple University in 2004. His dedication to teaching goes beyond college students, as he helped create community and teaching gardens for Philadelphia public school children and launched the PLANT program to teach prison inmates urban horticulture skills.

LaGasse Medal: William L. Flournoy Jr., FASLA  
William L. Flournoy Jr., FASLA, will receive the LaGasse Medal for his contributions to the management and conservancy of natural resources and public landscapes. During his tenure at the North Carolina Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Flournoy managed the nation’s first state conservation tax credit program, ultimately resulting in the donation of more than 180,000 acres, valued in excess of $800 million, for conservation purposes. Among many other conservation projects, Flournoy’s 1972 graduate project helped inspire Raleigh, N.C.’s award-winning greenway program, which some consider the first work of its kind and elevated the role landscape architects play in creating sustainable, healthy communities.  

Olmsted Medal: The Honorable Ken Salazar
The Hon. Ken Salazar, U.S. Secretary of the Interior, will receive the Olmsted Medal. The medal recognizes individuals, organizations, agencies or programs outside the profession of landscape architecture for environmental leadership, vision and stewardship. Through his work as Colorado Attorney General, United States Senator and now with the Department of the Interior, Salazar repeatedly fought to protect America’s public lands. From fending off water diversion projects in Colorado to helping protect salmon in the Pacific Northwest, he demonstrates the rare ability to balance and resolve complex environmental policy issues that protect the country’s natural resources.

Landscape Architecture Firm Award: EDSA
EDSA will receive the Landscape Architecture Firm Award, the highest award ASLA may bestow on a firm in recognition of extended excellence in work that influences the profession. Founded by Edward D. Stone Jr., FASLA, in 1960, the firm has grown from its Fort Lauderdale, Fla., roots to creating projects in 90 countries around the globe. The diversity in projects is reflected in the diversity of its employees – representing 25 countries and more than 20 different languages. During EDSA’s 50 years of existence, the firm has created some of the most influential works in the profession. Notable projects include the John F. Kennedy Center for Performing Arts, PepsiCo World Headquarters, Atlantis Resort and many others around the world.

Community Service Award: Achva Stein, FASLA
Achva Stein, FASLA, will receive the Community Service Award. Currently the director of the Landscape Architecture Program at the City College of New York, Stein regularly extends her work and that of her students into needy communities that cannot afford professional landscape architecture services. Throughout her career, Stein has created dozens of pro bono projects around the country – more than 20 in New York City alone. Her master plans, community gardens, streetscape designs and technical assistance help revitalize struggling communities and showcase the positive benefits of landscape architecture.


Kevin Fry
Director, PR and

JR Taylor
PR Coordinator