New York City’s Bryant Park Wins 2010 Landmark Award

Thoughtful redesign transformed derelict space into a model of urban sustainability


Washington, D.C., May 18, 2010 – Today, the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) and the National Trust for Historic Preservation announced New York City’s Bryant Park as the winner of the 2010 Landmark Award. The award recognizes a project’s design excellence, longevity and contribution to the public realm. A full project description and high-resolution images are available at:

Led by Laurie Olin, FASLA, the 1992 redesign of Bryant Park transformed the formerly derelict space into a model of urban sustainability. In addition to a large green roof, the park now offers year-round activities enjoyed by thousands of visitors each year. The park also significantly increased real estate values in the surrounding areas, demonstrating the link between urban green space and land value.

The Landmark Award recognizes a distinguished landscape architecture project completed between 15 and 50 years ago that retains its original design integrity and contributes significantly to the public realm of the community in which it is located.  Previous recipients include the Museum of Modern Art in New York City, Golden Gate National Recreation Area near San Francisco, and the Charleston (S.C.) Waterfront Park.

The professional awards jury described the project as “refreshing and so beautiful. The landscape architect balanced the location, the constituency and the materials. People love the experience.”

About the National Trust for Historic Preservation 
The National Trust for Historic Preservation ( is a non-profit membership organization bringing people together to protect, enhance and enjoy the places that matter to them. By saving the places where great moments from history – and the important moments of everyday life – took place, the National Trust for Historic Preservation helps revitalize neighborhoods and communities, spark economic development and promote environmental sustainability. With headquarters in Washington, DC, eight regional and field offices, 29 historic sites, and partner organizations in 50 states, territories, and the District of Columbia, the National Trust for Historic Preservation provides leadership, education, advocacy and resources to a national network of people, organizations and local communities committed to saving places, connecting us to our history and collectively shaping the future of America’s stories.

About ASLA
Founded in 1899, ASLA is the national professional association for landscape architects, representing more than 16,000 members in 48 professional chapters and 68 student chapters. The Society's mission is to lead, to educate and to participate in the careful stewardship, wise planning and artful design of our cultural and natural environments. Members of the Society use their “ASLA” suffix after their names to denote membership and their commitment to the highest ethical standards of the profession. Learn more about landscape architecture online at


Kevin Fry
Director, PR and

JR Taylor
PR Coordinator