ASLA Announces 2009 Honors

Brown wins ASLA Medal, EDAW | AECOM wins firm award


Washington, D.C., June 23, 2009 — Today, the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) announced the recipients of its 2009 honors, the highest awards the Society presents each year. Selected by ASLA’s Board of Trustees, the medals, the Community Service Award and the Landscape Architecture Firm Award will be presented during the ASLA Annual Meeting in Chicago, September 18-21.

The ASLA Medal: Joseph E. Brown, FASLA
Joseph E. Brown, FASLA, of EDAW will receive the ASLA Medal – the highest honor ASLA may bestow upon a landscape architect – in recognition for a 35-year career of excellence. Brown joined EDAW in 1972, took the reins in 1992, and molded the firm into an international force, 1,800 people strong, where principles and ideas trump directive and mandate. A mentor to a generation of EDAW employees, Brown also has taught at Harvard Graduate School of Design, the University of Virginia, and George Washington University and is author and subject of numerous articles. Despite his many leadership roles, Brown remains a designer’s designer and a practicing landscape architect whose notable works include the Signers’ Memorial in Washington, D.C.; redevelopment of Denver’s Stapleton Airport; Tokyo Midtown; and, currently, the public domain and streetscape design for the former World Trade Center site in New York.

The Design Medal: Richard W. Shaw, FASLA
Richard W. Shaw, FASLA, partner in the Aspen, Colo., office of Design Workshop Inc., will receive the ASLA Design Medal for his consistent excellence across a wide variety of project types. His projects – ranging from private houses to urban master plans – have earned multiple design awards. He has received the Urban Land Institute’s prestigious Award of Excellence twice, once for urban revitalization plans in Aspen and once for Blackcomb Resort in British Columbia. An active torchbearer of the profession, he has served both the national and Colorado chapter of ASLA, Landscape Architecture Foundation, advisory councils at Utah State University and the Harvard Graduate School of Design, and the Aspen Institute.

The Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal: Dennis Day, FASLA
Dennis Day, FASLA, professor of landscape architecture at Kansas State University, will receive the Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal for his sustained and significant contributions to landscape architecture education. Day taught landscape architecture construction for more than 40 years with an unequaled command of the subject and unfailing sense of purpose, insight and integrity. Thousands of students have been the benefactors of his simple and effective teaching techniques built on self-discovery and self-realization and find themselves owning a great technical advantage when they enter the workplace. When he retired at the end of the 2008 school year, Day stepped up his applied research in stormwater issues. Through these efforts, he keeps in contact with his students by involving them in his work and providing real-world experience.

The LaGasse Medal: Mayor Richard M. Daley, Honorary ASLA
Chicago Mayor Richard M. Daley, Honorary ASLA, will receive the Alfred B. LaGasse Medal for his leadership in management and conservancy of natural resources and public lands. With the well-earned reputation as America’s “greenest mayor,” Daley’s 20-year-long crusade to improve the urban environment of Chicago has launched dozens of leading initiatives, from “Green Homes for Chicago” to the “City of Chicago Energy Plan” to the recent “Adding Green to Design” program. By working to strengthen the environmental policies across Chicago’s government agencies, and by fostering public–private partnerships, Daley has created a broad-based coalition to take on the city’s environmental challenges and innovations. Integral design of landscape and building has become the norm in all departments, with green roofs, green walls and vertical gardens playing prominently in the mayor’s vision for a more humane and ecosensitive public architecture in the 21st century.

The Medal of Excellence: The Chicago Park District and City of Chicago
The Chicago Park District and City of Chicago jointly will receive the Medal of Excellence for their significant contributions to landscape architecture policy, research, education, project planning, and design. Since the election of Mayor Richard M. Daley in 1989, the Park District and the city have collaborated on scores of notable efforts, including the City Space Plan, addressing the need for additional open space; the Campus Park Program, which has transformed expansive areas of hardscape around more than 100 public schools into green spaces; the much loved and critically acclaimed Millennium Park; as well as shoreline projects and historic preservation works. By combining their separate strengths and resources, the two agencies have achieved results that allow Chicago to live up to its official motto: “Urbs in Horto” or “City in a Garden.”

The Olmsted Medal: The Center for Planning Excellence
The Center for Planning Excellence in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, will receive the Olmsted Medal for environmental leadership, vision, and stewardship. Founded in 1998, the nonprofit “CPEX” serves as a resource for residents, professionals, and elected officials on best practices for planning and urban design. Under the direction of Elizabeth “Boo” Thomas, ASLA, the center has served as one of the most influential organizations to address the recovery needs of hurricane-devastated areas of Louisiana. An outgrowth of Plan Baton Rouge, the Center for Planning Excellence officially came into being shortly after Hurricane Katrina struck in 2005. CPEX led the statewide Louisiana Speaks recovery planning process, the largest regional planning effort and public participation process ever undertaken in the United States, and continues to lead comprehensive planning efforts throughout the state.

The Landscape Architecture Firm Award: EDAW | AECOM
EDAW | AECOM will receive the Landscape Architecture Firm Award. Founded in 1939 by Garrett Eckbo, Edward Williams, Francis Dean, and Don Austin, EDAW draws its roots from San Francisco and modernist landscapes. Taking on projects of ever-increasing complexity and size, the firm quickly gained prestige in major land design and regional planning. By the early 1980s, the firm had designed recreational facilities enjoyed by millions of people. Today, the staff of 1,800 spans the globe across 25 studios of smaller principal-led design teams who employ an authentic, process-driven culture committed to advancing an agenda of economic equity and ecological restoration. From Washington, D.C., to Dublin to Abu Dhabi, EDAW drives projects where the principles of landscape architecture instruct planning, architecture, and engineering, such as the master plan that won London its bid for the 2012 Olympic Games.

The Community Service Award: Daniel Winterbottom, ASLA
Daniel Winterbottom, ASLA, associate professor in the department of landscape architecture and adjunct professor in the department of architecture at the University of Washington’s College of Architecture and Urban Planning, will receive the Community Service Award. As a humanitarian, Winterbottom brings the benefits of landscape architecture to poor, marginalized, and underserved populations. As a professor, Winterbottom teaches how to employ low-tech, cost-effective, sustainable materials. As a humanitarian and a professor, Winterbottom’s projects offer community service in another significant way: He always brings the students into the work to design and build the projects under his guidance. Their built landscapes have benefited people in prisons, poor communities in Mexico and Guatemala, cancer centers and other underserved groups.


Karen T. Grajales
Manager, Public Relations 
tel: 1-202-216-2371